St. Hilary Church, St. Hilary, Near Penzance, TR20 9DQ
Tel: (01736) 710229
History of a village
One of Penwith's newest attractions, St. Hilary Heritage Centre opened to the public in April 2011. It occupies a downstairs room in the recently renovated Old School, a picturesque building set on the edge of St. Hilary churchyard. The building was re-built in the late 1860's and replaced an earlier parish or church house. It was built using stone from the engine house and chimney of the recently closed Wheal Anna mine. A series of panels showcase the archaeology and history of St. Hilary, Ludgvan, Marazion and Perranuthnoe. In addition there are three panels on Bernard Walke and the Newlyn Society of Artists who embellished the church in the 1920's and 1930's and another on the history of the Old School. Paintings by a number of well-known Newlyn artists like Ernest and Dod Procter, and Norman Garstin can be seen in the nearby church.
Provision is made for hands-on school visits to stimulate interest in local history and heritage. Parties are welcome by arrangement and access outside normal hours can be organized on request. Light refreshments are available. The hall upstairs may be booked for lectures, classes and exhibitions in pursuit of the heritage agenda, as well as for community activities.
One mile north-east of Marazion.
10.00am - 4.00pm
Penzance Praa Sands St. Michael's Mount Marazion Cornwall's Churches