9 Castle Street, Launceston, PL15 8BA
Tel: (01566) 773277
Beautiful Georgian town house
The ancient capital of Cornwall, has many fine Georgian houses, one of which - Lawrence House - now houses the town museum.
Lawrence House, built in 1753, was given to the National Trust in 1964 to help preserve the Georgian character of Castle Street. These buildings still look much as they did 250 years ago and traces of the old cobble stones can still be seen. John Betjeman said that Castle Street, was 'the most perfect collection of 18th century town houses in Cornwall.'
Here you can delve into local history from Bronze Age to the Second World War; discover a display of Feudal Dues, a Victorian kitchen, and a room of agricultural exhibits; and visit the Sales area and Victorian garden. There is also a summer programme of temporary exhibitions.
The six rooms on the ground floor feature local history, Launceston at war, a scale model of the old Southern Railway Station, the Mayor’s Parlour, a toy room with toys to play with and a room dedicated to Launceston’s famous sons: John Couch Adams, astronomer and discoverer of the planet Neptune, Philip Gidley King, early Governor of New South Wales, in whose honour Launceston, Tasmania, was named, Charles Causley, teacher, poet and broadcaster and William Wise, herbalist and plant collector.
Lawrence House is now leased to Launceston Town Council and used as a local museum and civic centre.
Only a short walk down the hill from Launceston Castle.
April - October
Launceston Launceston Steam Railway National Trust Properties Antique Chairs Museum Cornwall's History