River Street, Truro, TR1 2SJ
Tel: (01872) 272205
The history of Cornwall
The Museum of Cornwall - a treasure trove waiting for you to discover! Come and see our superb collections of Cornish history and archaeology, paintings, ceramics, silver and gold. Examine a genuine Egyptian mummy or the world-famous collection of Cornish minerals.
The Grade II building which has housed the Royal Institution of Cornwall (RIC) since 1919 was built in 1845 as the Truro Savings Bank, and subsequently became Henderson’s Mining School. In 1986/7 the Institution acquired the adjacent Truro Baptist Chapel (1848). Together these substantial granite-fronted buildings (linked with a new foyer and shop in 1998) form an imposing street frontage at the centre of the historic city of Truro; both buildings were designed by the local architect Philip Sambell who was deaf without speech.
Over the years generous benefactors have donated an amazing array of objects, broadening the collection so that it covers for example Egyptology (hence our famous unwrapped mummy), fine art and world cultures, as well as classical Greek and Roman objects. The Rashleigh Gallery contains a world-famous collection of minerals, the core of which was amassed by Philip Rashleigh of Menabilly at the end of the 18th century. It includes the largest specimen of liroconite ever found, and a large gold nugget found at Perranarworthal. The Museum's decorative arts collection and old master drawings are also very strong, the latter chiefly due to Alfred de Pass, another generous benefactor.
A copy can be seen of the 'Rillaton' Gold Cup, found in 1837 at Rillaton Barrow near Minions on Bodmin Moor, the original is now held in the British Museum.
Within easy walking distance of Truro city centre.
Monday - Saturday
Royal Institution of Cornwall Truro Truro Cathedral Cornwall's History Cornwall County Record Office