Historic and picturesque headland
St. Anthony Battery is a former 19th century gun battery at St. Anthony Head, on the Roseland Peninsula. Following its decommissioning in 1956, the battery was acquired by the National Trust in 1959.
The battery was built in 1895 to defend the estuary of the River Fal and served during both World War it was originally installed with two BL six-inch Mk VI naval guns. They were replaced in 1903 with BL six-inch Mk VII naval guns, which remained in place until 1924. After a period under care and maintenance, the battery was re-armed during World War II with two six-inch VII guns, with an additional two Ordnance QF three-pounder Vickers placed nearby. The battery also served as an examination battery alongside Half Moon Battery at Pendennis Castle.
Following the dissolution of coast artillery in the United Kingdom in 1956, the battery's two gun emplacements were in-filled with rubble and earth. In 2012, the eastern gun emplacement was excavated and restored as part of the "Unlocking our Coastal Heritage" project, which aimed to "increase the economic value of the South West Coast Path by protecting and enhancing heritage features".[The battery is accessible to the public, while tours are carried out during the peak season by the National Trust.
St. Antony Head St. Anthony Head Lighthouse
St. Mawes St. Mawes Castle The Roseland Peninsula The Coastal Footpath