King Edward Mine

King Edward Mine Museum

Explore a once working mine

Troon, Camborne, TR14 9DP
Tel: (01209) 614681



King Edward Mine Museum specialises in the mining history of Cornwall. The mine dates from the 19th century and most of the equipment in the mill has been restored to working order.

King Edward Mine is at the eastern part of the South Condurrow Mine which was abandoned about 1890. It was re-opened in 1897, and developed as a fully operational/training mine, by the Camborne School of Mines (CSM).

King Edward (as it was re-named in 1901) was completely re-equipped, both on surface and underground, with modern machinery reflecting what was then considered the best Cornish practice. It was intended that the tin produced would cover most of the teaching costs.

The mine regularly produced tin up until World War 1 when operations were suspended. By 1920 it was back in production. This was short-lived for in 1921 the adjacent deeper Grenville Mine stopped working. As the 2 mines were interconnected, the consequent flooding of Grenville also flooded the King Edward workings. Underground operations, on a much reduced scale, were transferred to a dry shallow section the Great Condurrow Mine to the north. The surface area of the mine was retained and used for teaching mining, ore dressing. and surveying. The remainder of the lecturing continued to be carried out at the main campus in Camborne.

In 1974 the pilot plant and most of the lecturing in mining, ore dressing, management, and surveying moved to the main School of Mines Building. The mill complex was no longer needed and it became a store.

In 1987 a volunteer group was formed with the objective to conserve the site as an educational resource for the future and to operate it in a manner that benefits the local community. Using rescued machinery the mill has been restored to working condition much as it would have been in the early years of the last century.

King Edward Mine and its satellite mine Great Condurrow ceased to be used by Camborne School of Mines in 2005. KEM, then operating as a museum, was purchased by Cornwall Council and Great Condurrow by the Carn Brea Mining Society.

The buildings are all Grade II* listed and are of National importance. The site is part of the World Heritage Area of Cornwall.

The exhibits in the museum tell the remarkable story of how this mine has survived almost intact for over 100 years. The visitor is shown how the mine complex developed and then is taken on a guided tour of the mill to see much of the rare equipment in use as it would have been in the early 1900's. Much of the machinery in the mill (where tin ore is processed) is amongst the last of its kind in the world. The museum is also a valuable resource for local schools.


The Croust Hut Cafe is located in one of the original mine buildings.


One and a half miles south-east of Camborne just off the road to Troon.

Mineral Tramways

Mineral Tramway Discovery Centre

King Edward Mine is ideally situated for those who wish to access the multi-activity trails on its doorstep and offers free parking to those using them. The current network is some 30 miles in length and mainly traffic free. The Great Flat Lode Trail is a popular circular route within the network and links in with two trails; The Portreath Branch-line Trail which connects the coastal village of Portreath with Illogan and Pool along the historically important Portreath Incline and former Portreath railway bed. It has a safe traffic free route, also linking Cornwall College at Camborne and Tuckingmill Valley Park with the popular Great Flat Lode Trail.

The Redruth and Chasewater Railway Trail starts at Twelveheads, connecting with the existing Coast to Coast Trail. It follows a route south to the historic mining village of Carharrack, then continues north of Lanner, to connect with the Great Flat Lode Trail and the centre of Redruth, following as closely as possible the original railway route.

Whether you are a walker, cyclist or horse-rider, the network offers a unique opportunity to explore an area rich in mining heritage and which boasts the highest number of carefully conserved mine sites anywhere in the world.

Opening Times

April to June: Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday & Sunday: 10.00am to 4.00pm
July to September: Every Day: 10.00am to 4.00pm

Admission Charged

Camborne       Carn Brea       East Pool Mine       Redruth       Tolgus Tin       The Shire Horse & Carriage Museum

Moseley Museum       South Crofty Mine       Mineral Tramway Discovery Centre       Mining in Cornwall