Higher Penponds Road, Penponds, Camborne,
Tel: (01209) 612154
A great engineer's home in Cornwall
Tucked away in the village of Penponds near Camborne is the childhood home of Richard Trevithick, one of the most brilliant engineers of his time, described as 'mercurial, erratic and inspired'.
The cottage in Penponds was built in 1700. Richard Trevithick lived there for most of his life from childhood in the 1770's before marrying Jane Harvey in 1797. Although his work often took him away across the River Tamar and overseas, Trevithick returned to the cottage when he was in Cornwall.
Recognising the cottage as an important aspect of Cornwall's industrial heritage, it was rescued by the Cornish Engines Preservation Society in the 1900's. The National Trust then opened the property to the public when they took over ownership in 1967.
The Humphrey family moved into Richard Trevithick's former cottage in 1995 when the National Trust advertised for people to live there. One room is open for the public to look around. The room still has the original wooden panelling and contains a host of Trevithick memorabilia and a replica 18th century fireplace. There are also various pictures of the family and of the house prior to refurbishment. In one corner hang two portraits, one is a copy of Trevithick - the original hangs in the science museum - the other is of his wife Jane Harvey.
Lois Humphrey and her husband show visitors the former parlour room on Wednesday afternoons.
The cottage is now owned by the National Trust. Inside are fascinating memorabilia, including a pen and ink portrait of Richard Trevithick, family portraits and photographs.
2 miles south-west of Camborne just north of the B3303.
April - October
Camborne Richard Trevithick Trevithick Day Cornish Engine Houses Mining in Cornwall