All of everythingA
A Feast of Festivals
A Nation of Sea Farers
A Rich Celtic Heritage
A to Z of Ancient Sites in Cornwall
A small parish on the northern edge of Bodmin Moor, near Camelford. It has a church dedicated to St. Adwena constructed in the Early English and Perpendicular styles with a three stage, un-buttressed tower with eight pinnacles.
Located between Callington and Gunnislake on the A390.The cottage rows, chapel, shops, post office, brewery and smithy in Albaston all developed in response to the close connection with Drakewalls mine. The real impetus for development in the village came from the railway. The settlement became a busy and thriving depot for the quarries, brickworks and market gardeners who brought their freight to the station, and the early 20th century villas and terraces were built on the new commercial wealth. The Queens Head is a traditional pub.
Charming Bodmin Moor village located four miles north-east of Bolventor on the A30, in the steep sided valley of Penpont Water, with 15th century packhorse bridge and outstanding parish church of St. Nonna, known as 'Cathedral of the Moors'.
Angarrack is only a very small village in a steep and narrow valley, crossed by a huge railway viaduct, east of Hayle, but its display of Christmas Lights is superb and many local bus companies include Angarrack along with Mousehole and Newlyn as an evening excursion to view the colourful displays of lights. It is within two miles of the fine sandy beaches of St. Ives Bay and is ideally situated for exploring West Cornwall. The 18th century Angarrack Inn is well known for its friendly atmosphere and good bar food. Once the location of four mills.
Angling in Cornwall
A small village near Mullion where several barrows have been opened, disclosing interesting prehistoric remains. The fragments of an urn, some calcined bones and a bronze dagger found here are in the Truro Museum.
Antique Chairs Museum
This beautiful old village two miles west of Torpoint on the A374, lies at the bottom of the steep hill and was constructed at the end of the 18th century. The church of St. James was enlarged in 1420, but dates from much earlier. There is a pleasant pub, The Ring o'Bells.
Antony House (NT)
18th century house near Torpoint.
Antony Woodland Garden (NT)
Arts and Crafts in St. Ives
Besides a pub, the Lion & Lamb and a post office, a quiet village between Helston and Marazion on the A394. Once the location of four chapels. A Margaret Thretford lived in Ashton in the mid 1500's, who was a direct descendant of Lady Godiva.
A small village south-west of Truro where the body of Billy Bray, a celebrated Methodist preacher born at nearby Twelveheads, lies in the churchyard of St. Michael's church. Most of the houses were previously miners cottages as the area was a prosperous mining district.
Barbara Hepworth Museum
Barnes Museum of Cinematography
One mile south-west of Camborne. Local pub is The St. Michael's Mount Inn.
Small hamlet in the River Lynher valley between Liskeard and Launceston, just off the B3254.
Beaches, Bays & Billows
South of Camborne. Local pub is The Beacon Inn.
Beast of Bodmin
A beauty spot on the north coast north of Newquay. Its precipitous cliffs and spectacular rock formations above the sandy beach are covered with nesting sea birds and carpeted in summer with wild flowers. Local pub is The Inn at Bedruthan.
Small hamlet in the River Lynher valley near North Hill on the B3254. The 16th-century bridge was widened in 1890 and is a Grade II* listed structure.
East of St. Austell.
Between St. Austell and St. Blazey on the A390.
Bishop Rock Lighthouse
Four miles west of St. Agnes, Isles of Scilly.
Small village three miles south-west of Truro. Bissoe was the site of an early arsenic extraction works, the second such commercial works in Britain. The village now lies on the Coast to Coast Trail, a long-distance footpath and cycle trail across Cornwall.
Located in the parish of St. Agnes between Truro and Redruth. The village lies on the old course of the A30 north of the current course which bypasses it. The village has a primary school (built in 1877) which serves the village and surrounding settlements. The Victorian philanthropist and journalist John Passmore Edwards was born here. Wheal Concord mine, owned by CTS Mining Ltd closed in 1987, it had a two foot gauge railway which used battery electric locomotives. The Chacewater to Newquay railway line (1903-1963) crossed through Blackwater. A station building was located here, but in 1972 the railway bridge was destroyed. Local pubs are The Red Lion Inn and The Chiverton Arms.
Classic moorland village, set high on the western edge of Bodmin Moor, with village green and part-Norman parish church of St. Protus and St. Hyacinth, described by Sir John Betjeman as 'dazzling and amazing'. Just one mile north is the massive Jubilee Rock, carved with a figure of Britannia, coats of arms and other symbols to mark the Golden Jubilee of George III in 1810. Also nearby is a Neolithic stone circle known as the Stripple Stones, and two stone bridges across the De Lank river, Delphi and Bradford. Local pub is The Blisland Inn.
Blue Hills Tin Streams
Blue Reef Aquarium
Small hamlet south-east of Quethiock and about five miles north-west of Saltash. The hamlet has a Methodist chapel, a garage, and a women's institute.
Boconnoc House and Garden
One of the great houses of Cornwall with long drives through the parkland to its own medieval church. Site of a fierce battle during the Civil War. East of Lostwithiel.
Across the river crossed by a car ferry from Fowey. Colour-washed cottages climb a hill which affords magnificent views over Fowey and its Estuary. Ferryside, down by the river, was once the home of author Daphne du Maurier.
Set in the centre of the county. Notable 15th century St. Petroc's parish church, the largest in Cornwall, with remains of monastery and priory; also Tudor Guildhall. For a century and a half Cornwall's county town. One of the leaders of the 1497 Cornish Rebellion, the lawyer Thomas Flamank, came from here. Bodmin Jail, scene of many public executions. Regimental Museum, Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry. Great houses of Lanhydrock (NT) and Pencarrow. Bodmin & Wenford Steam Railway. Access to the Camel Trail. Main line railway station.
Bodmin Beacon Local Nature Reserve
Desolate granite moorland overlooked by summits of Brown Willy (1377 feet), Cornwall's highest point, and Roughtor. Abundance of Neolithic and Bronze Age remains. In the centre of the moor is Jamaica Inn and, to the south, Dozmary Pool of Arthurian legend. Siblyback Lake is near the southern edge of the moor, and Colliford Reservoir in in the centre. There are also many mines and quarries on or close to the moor.
Bodmin Town Museum
Bodmin & Wenford Railway
Tiny hamlet located on the Roseland Peninsula above St. Anthony with great views across to St. Mawes.
Near Perranporth. Local pub is the Bolingey Inn.
Truly a high moorland village, it is situated in the very heart of the moor on the A30 road. Here is the old coaching house Jamaica Inn made famous by Daphne du Maurier's novel. The small church that was built by the Rodd's of Trebartha and dedicated to the Holy Trinity that lies to the west of the village closed some years ago. Colliford Lake Park and Bodmin airfield at nearby Cardinham. Walks to Dozmary Pool and Brown Willy.
Bonython Estate Gardens
Entrancing north coast harbour about three miles from Tintagel on the B3263, with 16th century quay and 14th century cottages clinging to hillside above fast flowing water. Thomas Hardy met his wife here whilst restoring nearby church of St. Juliot. Fine walks through beautiful Valency Valley and St. Nectan's Glen.
Boscastle Visitor Centre
East of St. Austell.
Lies between Tintagel and Boscastle on the B3263, a small hamlet of great historical interest. Once the parliamentary seat of Sir Francis Drake. Sandy beach with formations such as Elephant Rock and Wiilapark Head. Nearby Rocky Valley and St. Nectan's Glen should not be missed. Legend also says that King Arthur's famous Round Table is buried under Bossiney Mound, which is situated on the edge of the village.
Bosvathick House and Garden
Botallack is located seven miles north-west of Penzance on the B3306. Botallack Mine has been referred to as the submarine mine, its ruined cliff-side engine houses perch remarkably close to the cliff edge and the tunnels extend under the sea. Nearby is the location of Geevor Tin Mine & Heritage Centre, and Levant Beam Engine, both just north of St. Just. Nampara, home of Ross Poldark in BBC TV series, is situated here.
North of Saltash. Famous for its fruit orchards in the sheltered valleys running down towards the River Tamar. There is a small and lively village inn, The Rising Sun. Small church dedicated to St. Mary.
Small hamlet high on Bodmin Moor near Davidstow Airfield. There is a ford and a bridge across Penpont Water. Good access point for the northern moors with some parking.
A village and parish, five miles north-west of Launceston. Nearby is the now dry course of the Bude Canal and there was a wharf at Boyton Bridge.
Seven miles west of Liskeard. Braddock church is dedicated to St. Mary the Virgin, the earliest parts of the building are Norman but an aisle and a tower were added in the 15th century. The battle of Braddock Down was fought here in 1643 during the civil war.
Small moorland hamlet north of Blisland in the valley of the De Lank River on Bodmin Moor.
Three miles north of Callington on the B3257.
One mile east of Camborne. Surrounded by old mine workings and spoil heaps. Local pub is The Brea Inn.
Situated just west of Helston, just off the A394. Notable 15th century wall-paintings in parish church of St. Breaca, re-discovered last century. 17th century Godolphin House, home of Earls of Godolphin, and featured in Poldark series, to north of village. Local pub is The Queens Arms.
British Cycling Museum
Brocklands Adventure Park
Cairned hill on Bodmin Moor overlooking Colliford Lake.
Highest point in Cornwall at 1377 feet. Situated in the centre of Bodmin Moor to the north of the A30 road, it dominates the moorland scene. There are hut circles and tumuli on the slopes about its long-ridged peak. Source of the River Fowey is on its eastern slopes.
Bryher (Isles of Scilly)
Prime north coast resort with fine sandy beaches, rock pools, tidal swimming pool. Fine centre for surfing. Bude is also the terminus of 'The Bude Canal' which was built in the early 1820's to carry calcium rich sea sand used by farmers as fertiliser for the poor soil to be found further inland as well as other goods. Annual Jazz Festival. Civil War battlefield of Stamford Hill. Widemouth Bay lies about three miles to the south.
Bude Sea Pool
Bude Visitor Centre
Small hamlet just off the A38 near Trerulefoot.
Two miles west of Falmouth. The parish church of St. Budock, which has a western tower, is partly of the 13th and partly of the 15th century: the box pews which in most churches were removed in the Victorian period remained until mid 2010 when they were also removed. The church contains a brass to John Killigrew and his wife. Local pub is the Trelowarren Arms.
Between Bodmin and St. Austell on the A391. The village came into being during the 18th and 19th century when it was at the heart of the china clay industry, with deposits unrivalled pretty much anywhere else in the World. The landscape around here is testament to the scale of the clay workings with pyramids of waste dominating the area. Over recent years these have started being flattened out. The Bugle Music Festival was started in 1951 and has gradually increased during the years. It is held each year in May. Still has a railway station on the Newquay branch line. Local pub is The Bugle Inn dating from 1840.
Trail from Bugle to The Eden Project.
Small hamlet two miles south of Wadebridge.
Burncoose Garden & Nursery
Miniscule fishing village on east coast of Lizard Peninsula between Lizard Village and Coverack. Two small shingle beaches, and cluster of pastel-washed thatched cottages. Fleet once landed 1,798,000 pilchards over four days in 1904. There is a small church still open dedicated to St. Mary. A short walk leads to the Devil's Frying Pan, a collapsed sea cave. Local pub is the Cadgwith Cove Inn.
Forms the beautiful backdrop for Porthluney Cove and is a private residence. The castle and gardens are open at certain times of the year. Located on the South Coast between Truro and St. Austell on the Roseland Peninsula.
Small hamlet south-west of Truro. Once the site of Cornwall's chief smelting house.
Three miles east of St. Agnes.
Market town nestling between Tamar and Lynher rivers on the cross roads of the A390 and the A388. Once a prosperous mining and woollen centre. 15th century chapel encloses Dupath Well, with reputation for curing whooping cough. 1000 foot high Kit Hill to north, with nature trails and spectacular views of Bodmin Moor and Dartmoor.
Callington Heritage Centre
Situated just inside Cornwall on the banks of the River Tamar, the inland port of Calstock grew up as a result of the mining activities in the surrounding area. Notable for views of Tamar Valley, railway viaduct, which dominates the town, and skeletal remains of tin and copper mines. Cotehele House & Quay (National Trust), former home of the Edgcumbe family, lies around bend in river.
Heart of former mining industry, along with nearby Redruth. Countless relics include East Pool Engine House, with working beam engines. Home of engineer Richard Trevithick, honoured by the town each April with Trevithick Day. Parish church of St. Meriadocus. Carn Brea Leisure Centre. Main line railway station.
Camborne School of Mines Geological Museum & Gallery
Camel Creek Adventure Park
Major estuary on the north coast. Followed by the Camel Trail from Wadebridge to Padstow and crossed at the mouth by the infamous Doom Bar.
Camel Valley Vineyard
A small town on the main A39 trunk road, which takes its name form the river which flows through it. Suffers from a high rainfall due to the close proximity to the western edge of Bodmin Moor. Ideal touring centre. Tintagel, to north, is the legendary castle of King Arthur, and nearby Slaughterbridge over the River Camel is probable site of bloody defeat of Cornish by Wessex. Site of North Cornwall Museum & Art Gallery, and nearby is the British Cycling Museum. Also in the area is Crowdy Reservoir for trout fishing.
Small village on the main A30 road. near Hayle. Local pub is The Lamb and Flag Inn.
A small hamlet between Bude and Launceston on the River Ottery.
Situated in the far west of Cornwall, four miles north of Land's End and Sennen Cove, the spectacular hump-backed Cape Cornwall, with its chimney stack, is the only cape where two oceans meet in England. It rears 229 feet out of the sea to a summit which offers a 270 degree view over the Western Approaches well worth the steep climb. Off shore lie the Brisons, an underwater reef that has caused many a shipwreck. Rare plants and birds give the area an extra special appeal today.
Caradon Area Map
Located on the south-eastern corner of Bodmin Moor and reaches a height of 1213 feet above sea level. The television mast rising above the summit of this ancient hill can be seen for many miles around. Copper was discovered here in 1837, and signalled the beginning of the mining boom which changed the character of the eastern moor, and gave birth to many local villages such as Pensilva, Darite, St. Cleer and Tremar.
A mile to south of St. Ives, and a resort in its own right. Sheltered, wide and sandy beach ideal for young children, plus windsurfing and water-skiing. This is an increasingly popular holiday area, with fine hotels and camping sites. There is a memorable panoramic view from Hayle to St. Ives along the railway branch line trip from Lelant and the coastal footpath here is a joy to walk. Parish church is St. Anta.
North of St. Austell. Carclaze mine produced tin and china clay for over 400 years. Local pub is The Carclaze.
Carclew House & Garden
On western slopes of Bodmin Moor, surrounded by moorland and steep wooded valleys. This little known village boasts a fine 15th century church dedicated to St. Meubred, in which is a brass commemorating Thomas Awmarle, a Rector of the parish in the 14th century, and two of Cornwall's finest Celtic crosses in the churchyard, one of which is well over 8 feet tall and beautifully decorated. Cardinham Castle is a large 11th century earth ringwork mound of what was once a motte and bailey castle. Well situated for Bodmin airfield, Carnglaze Slate Caverns and moor.
Deep wooded valleys near Bodmin, excellent for cycling and walking. Managed by the Forestry Commission.
On the bank of the River Tamar, north of Saltash. Cargreen has a yacht club and once had a thriving industry ferrying flowers across the river to Devon. The excellent Crooked Spaniards Inn is close by the river bank here.
East of Redruth. Small mining village close to Gwennap Pit. Parish church of St. Piran. The arrival of The Redruth & Chacewater Railway bought much prosperity to the village until the mines closed.
North of St. Austell.
Crinnis is a Blue Flag beach two miles south-east of St. Austell, which was created from mining wastes from the nearby china clay industry. Eighteen hole parkland golf course. Between 1920 and the Second World War, Carlyon Bay was the site of the New Cornish Riviera Lido. The Cornwall Coliseum as it became known hosted exhibitions, tennis tournaments and many concerts by leading musicians, but it closed in 1991 and was demolished in 2015.
Carminowe Valley Garden
The 812 foot summit of Carn Brea has an extensive viewpoint with dramatic views over Camborne and Redruth towards the north and south coasts, and it is visible itself from most of West Cornwall.
Carn Euny Ancient Village
Iron Age village, near to Land's End.
South-east of Redruth. It is 771 feet high and is well known for the granite quarried from it in the past. Now the site of an open air theatre.
Carnglaze Slate Caverns
Small hamlet south-west of Camborne.
Just south of Carn Brea.
Close to Stithians Reservoir, between Falmouth and Redruth.
South of Truro. It consists mostly of bungalows and detached housing built in the latter half of the 20th century. It also has a post office, shops, doctor's surgery, village hall, caravan site, hotel, pub/restaurant and a garden centre. Local pub is The Carnon Inn.
Small hamlet midway between Pendeen and St. Just on the B3306.
Carrick Area Map
Two miles north of St. Austell on the B3274. Local pub is The Sawles Arms.
Carwinion House & Gardens
Castle an Dinas
An Iron Age hillfort near St. Columb Major, is considered one of the most important hill-forts in the south-west of Britain. It dates from around the second to third century and consists of three ditch and rampart concentric rings, at 850 feet above sea level the views from here are amazing.
Catchfrench Manor Gardens
With neighbouring Kingsand, this tiny village once operated one of the largest smuggling fleets in West Country. Now anchorage for yachts at mouth of the Tamar River. Wide bay beneath wooded heights of Penlee. Fine walks around Rame Head, with Mount Edgcumbe Country Park nearby.
Village on the A390 east of Redruth which sits in a valley between hills separating it from Threemilestone, Scorrier and St. Day. Steam pioneer James Watt installed his first new pumping engines here at Wheal Busy copper mine in 1778. The Wheal Jane Mine was also in this area. The parish church of St. Paul was built in 1837. The local pubs are the Rambling Miner, The Britannia Hotel and The Kings Head.
Small village two miles north of Wadebridge. The River Amble was once navigable up to the village on high spring tides, with seaweed, sand and coal being taken up to the village and grain brought out again. Access to the River Amble for vessels is not now possible after construction of the tidal barrage which prevents the tide entering the river in 1963. Local pub is The Malsters Arms.
Magnificent beach, approached through fold in cliffs, close to St. Agnes on north coast. Administered by National Trust. Car Park and Cafe. Best access at low tide. Remains of Wheal Coates Mine lie below St. Agnes Beacon.
Tiny hamlet on the A388 five miles north of Launceston. The local pub is The Arscott Arms.
Familiar TV location for Poldark and Onedin Line. Once a busy little port built by Charles Rashleigh. The Shipwreck and Heritage Centre is on the quay. Built in 1801 by the Eddystone Lighthouse engineer John Smeaton, for the import of coal and the export of china clay. Now provides permanent berth for square riggers and tall ships. The church of St. Paul was built in 1851. South-east of St. Austell. Local pub is The Rashleigh Arms.
Charlestown Shipwreck & Heritage Centre
Chase Art Gallery
North of Gunnislake. Local pub is The White Hart Inn.
Chysauster Ancient Village
Well preserved homes of Iron Age farmers perch high on Gulval Downs, above Penzance.
North-west of Callington on the B3257. Small village approximately seven miles from the historic town of Launceston. The village has a primary school, Wesleyan Methodist chapel and village hall.
Tiny hamlet three miles east of Newquay. The parish church of St. Colanus was built in the 13th century.
Colliford Lake Park
900 acre lake situated just south of Bolventor.
North-west of Callington on the B3257 at the crossroads with the B3254.
Between Camborne and Hayle. The A30 trunk road originally ran through the village. Local pub is The Turnpike Inn.
Granite for London's original Waterloo bridge came from around Constantine which is near one of Cornwall's main quarrying areas. The village stands on rising ground between Falmouth and Helston above the thickly wooded valley leading to the quiet creeks of the Helford River. Piskey’s Hall – The Fairy’s Fogou is nearby. The parish church of St. Constantine was built on the site of a 15th century Celtic monastery. The local pubs are the The Trengilly Wartha Inn and The Queens Arms.
Constantine Heritage Centre
One of succession of fine sandy beaches on the north coast adjoining Trevose Head; others include Harlyn, Booby's, Mother Ivey's, Fox Cove and Porthcothan. Trevose golf club course nearby. Favourite holiday location of Margaret Thatcher during her premiership.
Hamlet on the outskirts of Hayle. It grew up around the Copperhouse Foundry which was run by Sandys, Carne and Vivian.
Two miles north of Bude a delightful hamlet of thatched cottages and mill, once a thriving village based on the wood and corn mill. Nearby Coombe Valley forest walk.
Cornish Birds of Prey Centre
St. Columb Major.
Cornish Engine Houses
Cornish Engines (NT)
Cornish Folklore & Legends
Cornish Houses, Museums & Art Galleries
Cornish Lifeboat Stations
Cornish Maize Maze
Cornish Stannary (Tin) Law
Cornish Tourist Attractions
Cornwall at War Museum
Cornwall Aviation Heritage Centre
Cornwall County Record Office
Cornwall Geological Museum
Cornwall Heritage Trust
Cornwall Tourist Board
Cornwall's Breweries and Distilleries
Cornwall's China Clay Industry
Cornwall's Farm Shops
Cornwall's Garden Centres
Cornwall's History & Timeline
Cornwall's Patron Saints
Cornwall's Sports Centres
Cornwall's Tourist Information Centres
Cornwall's Towns & Villages
Cot Valley is another of West Cornwall's beautiful lush sub-tropical valleys. Running westwards down to the coast, and passing about one mile south of the town of St. Just, Cot is totally unspoilt and home to only a handful of houses. The Valley reaches the sea at the lovely Porth Nanven Cove, with the Brisons Rocks lying one mile offshore.
Cotehele Gallery (NT)
Cotehele House (NT)
Cotehele Mill (NT)
Cotehele Quay (NT)
Two miles east of Lostwithiel with the Boconnoc Estate on the north. Nigel Havers discovered in the programme "Who Do You Think You Are?" that he is descended from the Couch family who operated the mill in the 19th century.
Unspoiled fishing village on the Lizard Peninsula at the end of the B3294, with minuscule quay and traditional cottages spilling down to sea. For many years an RNLI lifeboat station, because of proximity to feared Manacles reef. One of many villages where smuggling supplemented the fishing industry. Local pub is The Paris Hotel.
Small cove on the north coast between Bude and Boscastle, overlooked by sheer 400 foot cliffs - Cornwall's highest coastal point. Tiny St. Genny's church has rare altar tabernacle. Breathtaking views towards Bude, Hartland and Lundy Island. Noted for its cliff walks. Local pub is The Coombe Barton Inn.
Coastal village between Looe and Torpoint on the B3247. The village has a post office, inn and chapels, also there is a golf course nearby. Local pubs are The Finnygook Inn and The Liscawn Inn.
Large sandy beach just south of Newquay, very busy in the summer months.
Across Gannel estuary from Newquay. Ancient but pretty village with central Round Garden (NT). Good beach, with caves, across dunes. Thatched Old Albion Inn has smugglers' hideaway. Ferry across estuary.
Small hamlet one mile south of Grampound on the Roseland Peninsula. The church of St. Crida & St. Andrew was of Norman foundation but in its existing form is more or less of the 15th century. Between 1869 and 1906 the church was unused.
Creed House and Garden
Small village on the Rame Peninsula at the mouth of the River Tamar with passenger ferry to Plymouth started in 1204. The main gates to Mount Edgcumbe Country Park and House are located here. The end of the Coastal Footpath in south Cornwall. Local pub is The Edgcumbe Arms.
Small village three miles south of Camborne. There used to be a railway station in here on the Helston branch line. Until the line was closed in 1964 at the height of the Beeching cuts. The church of St. Crewenna dates back to 1400.
Constructed in 1973 and some 115 acres in size, located two miles east of Camelford.
On the A30 between Penzance and Hayle. Local pub is The Star Inn.
Small hamlet one mile north of St. Buryan on the A30. There is evidence that the site was important in neolithic times, including a nearby Celtic cross and a holy well. The hamlet once had its own Methodist chapel, but this has since fallen into disuse and has subsequently been converted into housing.
Small mining village on the southern slopes of Bodmin Moor. About four miles north of Liskeard. Once housed miners from the nearby Caradon Hill mines. The stream that starts from just above the village becomes the River Seaton. A large Methodist chapel was built here to tame the miners (now demolished) and Crows Nest Inn.
Small village located three miles south-west of Newquay. An inscribed stone, dated from the sixth to eighth centuries, was found embedded in the walls of the 15th century church of St. Cubertus. Local pubs are The Smugglers Den Inn and The Anvil.
Medieval house near Launceston.
Small hamlet between Mullion and Culdrose Airfield, about three miles south of Helston. Local church is dedicated to St. Corentine. Local pub is The Wheel Inn.
Cycling in Cornwall
Daphne du Maurier
Old mining village five miles north of Liskeard on the southern edge of Caradon Hill and Bodmin Moor. Once on the Liskeard to Caradon Railway. Still has a small Methodist chapel.
Between Liskeard and Launceston on the B3254. Site of a 1000 year old oak tree associated with a considerable amount of legends.
A bleak scattered parish on the northern edge of Bodmin Moor. There is little here but the 15th century church of St. David and a few houses. Nearby are the ruins of a wartime airfield. Once this was a Coastal Command airfield built by the Americans during the second world war in 1942. The area is frequently lost in heavy mist and would have prevented or hampered flights on many occasions with the result that military operations ceased shortly after the war. For a short time in the early 1950's, Davidstow Airfield again achieved prominence as a prime location for British Motor Sport and Formula One. 'Davidstow Cheddar' and 'Cathedral City' brands of cheese are produced at Davidstow Creamery which is operated by Dairy Crest, the big employer of the area.
Davidstow Moor RAF Memorial Museum
D.C.L.I. Regimental Museum
Small hamlet one mile south-west of Launceston on the B3254.
Village famous for its great slate quarry. Located two miles west of Camelford on the B3314. Delabole is also home to Britain's first commercial wind farm. Local pubs are the The Bettle and Chisel and The Poldark Inn.
Delabole Slate Quarry
Historic slate quarry, still working, 425 feet deep, 880 yards across and 400 years old. Largest man-made hole in Britain. Guided tours.
Delabole Wind Farm
Four and a half miles south-west of Truro, has access to the sea by Restronguet Creek, Linked by the Redruth and Chacewater Railway to its docks and quays for the export of minerals, and the import of coals, etc., to the mines in the Gwennap district which formerly brought brisk trade to the quay. The parish church of St. John & St. Petroc was built in 1855. Thomas Lobb, Victorian botanist and plant hunter is buried in Devoran churchyard. Local pub is the Old Quay Inn.
Small village just west of Liskeard once split in half by the A38 but now by-passed. Family adventure park based on miniature US railways combined with award-winning Edwardian countryside museum and art gallery. Three miles north, lies the beauty spot of Golitha Falls. The local church is dedicated to St. Peter. Local pub is the Highwayman.
Dobwalls Family Adventure Park
Small hamlet one mile east of Menheniot.
The highest headland on the South Cornish coast. Located three miles south of Mevagissey. Iron Age earthworks and medieval field systems on the headland between Gorran Haven and Portholland. The large granite cross was erected in 1896 as a navigational aid for seafarers.
Is a sandbar at the mouth of the estuary of the River Camel, where it meets the Sea on the north coast of Cornwall near Padstow. A Cornish folklore legend relates that a mermaid created the bar as a dying curse on the harbour after she was shot by a local man. The Doom Bar has accounted for more than six hundred shipwrecks since records began early in the nineteenth century.
West of Liskeard on the A38. Once had a main line railway station which closed in 1964.
Small resort with shingle beach about three miles east of Looe on the B3247, developed around nucleus of fishermen's cottages. 19th century church of St. Nicolas. The wreck of the 'Rodney' can be found just off of Downderry in about twenty three feet of water 300 feet west of the slipway. She was an iron full-rigged ship built in 1874 and wrecked in 1901. Close to Seaton sands, and The Monkey Sanctuary. Local pub is the Inn on the Shore.
On southern slopes of Bodmin Moor, just south of Bolventor. About 30 acres in extent, this dark and lonely place has always fascinated local inhabitants and visitors alike. Its shores were probably inhabited before any other inland area of Cornwall. Here, according to Arthurian legend, a hand emerged from water to receive Excalibur.
Dr. Alfred Leslie Rowse
South of Gunnislake on the A390. Once a busy mining area.
Small village two miles west of Penzance on the A30. Home to a pair of standing megaliths called the 'Triganeeris Sisters' or 'Drift Stones'.
Small village on high ground between East and West Looe Rivers about four miles south of Liskeard on the B3254, with circle of eight standing quartz stones, 38 foot in diameter, reputedly older than Stonehenge. The church of St. Cuby and St. Leonard has a massive 13th century tower which can be seen for miles around and the mighty tomb of Sir John Colshull of Tremadart (who, in 1450, was the second richest man in Cornwall). The holy well is half a mile away from the church towards Looe. The Plough Inn was once combined with a butchers shop.
Small hamlet one mile north of Bodmin on the A389. Access to the Bodmin & Wenford Railway. The Camel Trail passes through here. Local pub is The Borough Arms.
Small village located on the Helford River near Falmouth. The village is extremely small only including a few houses, mostly visited by tourists and visitors from the Glendurgan Garden next door.
One mile south of St. Austell, now a private holiday village. Duporth Holiday Village was built on the site of the old Duporth estate and manor which was owned by Charles Rashleigh, who developed Charlestown. From 1972 to 1989 the site was owned and run by Butlins. In 1989 the manor house was demolished to make way for housing developments. The village lies midway between the fishing port of Charlestown and Porthpean.
Thirteen miles south-west of Plymouth.
One mile west of Wadebridge. The local pub is The Quarryman Inn.
East of Wadebridge alongside the A389, on the banks of the River Camel. Once a Bronze Age settlement and a river port, rivalling Padstow a little over five miles down river. The trade consisted of tin, clay, wool, and vegetable crops. It is now a busy rural village. The church of St. Petroc has a 15th century tower. The local pub is the Earl of St. Vincent.
Tidy village with interesting cottages north-west of Launceston. 15th century church of St. Keri and St. Petroc with original Norman wall and transept. Egloskerry railway station opened on 3rd October 1892 when the London & South Western Railway, or LSWR, opened a line between Launceston. and Tresmeer. The station closed on 3rd October 1966.
Elliott's Grocery Store
A 'time-warp' grocery shop in Saltash which remains as it was when the last customer was served in 1973.
Ellis Nurseries & Gardens
English Heritage in Cornwall
Ethy House and Gardens
Leading south coast resort. Third largest natural harbour in the world, with bustling waterfront, four bathing beaches, Henry VIII Pendennis Castle, and strong maritime tradition. Gardens. Maritime museum. Arts Centre and Princess Pavilion. Championship sailing, river cruises. Leisure centre, golf course. Park-an-Ride in summer. Nearby Penryn is well-preserved historic port with many fine buildings and courtyards. Terminus of railway branch line from Truro.
Falmouth Art Gallery
Falmouth College of Arts Gallery
Famous Cornish People
Farming in Cornwall
Feadon Farm Wildlife Centre
Feock is one side of the King Harry Ferry crossing to the Roseland. On Carrick Roads. Parish church of St. Feoca with separate tower and slate-hung lychgate. Creekside walk follows old tram road. Trelissick gardens are nearby.
Near Altarnun on Bodmin Moor. So called because five lanes converge here by The King's Head public house which was constructed in 1623. The King's Head was occupied by both the Roundheads and the Cavaliers during the 1642 Civil War. In 1773 it was known as The Indian Queen, 12 years later The London Inn and in 1795 it was known has the Five Lanes Inn. Five Lanes became a staging post for coaches in the mid 18th century.
Flicka Donkey Sanctuary
Facing Falmouth across the Penryn River, Flushing is a handsome village and still almost entirely unspoilt. Owes name to seamen from Vlissingen, Holland, who settled here in 17th century, and retains Dutch appearance. Narrow streets with Queen Anne houses, former home of Packet captains. Small Norman church of St. Peter. Served by a ferry from Falmouth. Local pubs are the The Royal Standard and The Seven Stars.
Small hamlet half a mile south of Saltash. There was a viaduct here which was demolished after the line was diverted to a more inland alignment on 19th May 1908.
On the southern slopes of Carn Brea, three miles south of Redruth on the B3297. The granite-built parish church of St. Andrew's dates from 1881. Half-a-mile north-west of the village is a television transmitting station with a 568 foot mast. Local pubs are the Ancient Victoria Inn and The Sportsmans Arms.
(Pronounced Foy) Historic seafaring town in an idyllic location on the western bank of the Fowey River and is linked by a foot and car ferry to Polruan on the opposite side of the river. Home of Fowey Gallants in Hundred Years' War, the Troy Town of Sir Arthur Quiller-Couch. Associations with Daphne du Maurier. Tortuous main street clings to waterside, offering intriguing glimpses of boats of every description. Ancient church of St. Fimbarrus. Excellent beaches nearby. Start/finish of the Saints Way. Local pubs are The Lugger Inn, The Galleon Inn and The Ship Inn.
Near Altarnun on Bodmin Moor.
West of St. Austell on the B3279. Scene of the start of the china clay industry in 1748 by William Cookworthy. The football player and manager Johnny Hore (1947-) was born here.
Hamlet three miles south-east of Hayle. Site of an Inn called the Halfway House (now closed), so called by the monks travelling from St. Michael's Mount.
Small village famed for its food hall, Mebyon Kernow, and the movement for Cornish self-determination is based there. Situated on the A30 just south of St. Columb Road. The Blue Anchor Hotel dates back to 1795.
On coast near Rame Head. The majority of dwellings are north of the road on the plateau above Freathy Cliffs, while some chalets are sporadically situated on the cliff-side above the beach below. During the summer, the beach is popular with visiting tourists.
Immortalised by Daphne du Maurier, this lovely valley really does exist. Owned by the National Trust, it is hidden away (just west of Helford) and not easy to find.
Small hamlet two miles south-east of St. Day. Local pub is the Cornish Arms.
Large flooded valley with Crantock beach on one side and Newquay on the other with beautiful scenery all round.
South-east of Helston.
North of Bolventor on Bodmin Moor.
Geevor Tin Mine
Small village midway between Helston and Penzance. Germoe feast is always held on the first weekend in May, which involves hurling a silver ball between the two pubs. Location of one of the first automatic telephone exchanges in Cornwall. Part Norman church of St. Germoe
Gerrans lies at the top of the hill above Portscatho and the medieval spire of the church of St. Gerrant has acted as a landmark to generations of local sailors. The local pub is The Royal Standard.
Secluded sweep of Roseland from Portscatho to Nare Head, pleasant beaches and charming villages, including Portcurnich, Porthbean, Pendower and Carne beaches.
Gerrans Heritage Centre
Getting To The Islands
Glen Carne Nursery & Gardens
Glendurgan Garden (NT)
The Glynn Valley is a picturesque region between Bodmin and Liskeard. A peculiar feature of the area is the fact that the River Fowey, the railway and the A38 road all run alongside each other for much of the way. Glynn House at the head of the valley was rebuilt for Edmund John Glynn, High Sheriff of Cornwall in 1805; damaged by fire in 1819, and altered in 1833 for Sir Richard Hussey Vivian. The Halfway House Inn is midway along the valley.
Located between Helston and Penzance. Once a very busy little village with shops, wheelwrights, carpenters and a blacksmith, all used by the tin miners from the nearby Wheal Breage and Wheel Wreath tin mines. The church of St. John the Baptist was built in 1849. Local pub is the Godolphin Arms.
Godolphin House (NT)
Extensive sandy beach to east of St. Ives Bay, with lighthouse island made famous by Virginia Woolf's 'To the Lighthouse'. Navax Point (NT) well-known for seals, especially around Godrevy Point.
St. Ives bay
Waterside village overlooking Penpoll creek, near Fowey, with an inn, jetty and a few cottages. Nearby Castle Dore earthworks reputedly the site of King Mark's castle, in the legend of Tristan and Iseult. The church of St. Sampson is is on the slope above the village. Local pub is The Fishermans Arms.
North of Callington.
East of Penzance on the B3280. Local pubs are the Crown Inn and the Trevelyan Arms.
Golf in Cornwall
Beauty spot on the River Fowey on Bodmin Moor.
Two miles east of Perranporth on the A3075. As well as a village store/post office, a garden centre and several camp-sites, there is a public house named 'The New Inn' in the centre of the village. A railway branch-line to Perranporth and St. Agnes ran through Goonhavern from 1905 but the line was closed by Dr Beeching's cuts in the 1960's. The Braefel Inn is just north of the village.
Located on the Lizard peninsula. Notable for its British Telecom Satellite Earth Station, ancient monuments and barrows, and national nature reserve of 103 acres, habitat of rare heathers. Wind farm.
Goonhilly Earth Satellite Station
Small, picturesque, 13th century former fishing village between the spectacular 400 foot high Dodman Point and Mevagissey, with narrow streets leading down to a safe sandy beach sheltered by a stone pier. Local pub is The Barley Sheaf Inn.
Goss Moor Multi-use Trail
Trail around a Nature Reserve in Mid Cornwall.
A small settlement on the main A390 St. Austell to Truro road, the lowest crossing point of the River Fal which was a deep and busy waterway in Roman times. The church of St. Nuns was built in 1869. The village was home to Croggon's tannery which closed in 2002. Local pub is the Dolphin Inn.
Grampound Heritage Centre
A village one mile north-west of the village of Grampound to access a station (now closed) on the main railway line through Cornwall. Local pub is the Four Burrows
Small hamlet between Threemilestone and Chacewater.
Gribbin Head between Par and Fowey, is 250 feet high, owned by the National Trust, and topped by an 84 foot high day marker built in 1832 to guide ships into Fowey. Wonderful walking along the coast path with impressive views. Menabilly, the family home of the Rashleigh's, and once home to Daphne Du Maurier is nearby.
A quiet village of Victorian houses and cottages round the 15th century church of St. Gulval in which the graveyard is home to the remains of local pirate and smuggler John 'Eyebrows' Thomas of Marazion. A favourite haunt of Sir Humphry Davy as a young man, a large rock shaped like a reading desk is still known as Davy's rock. One mile east of Penzance. Local pub is The Coldstreamer.
Seven-arched road bridge across the River Tamar, built in 1520, was main route into Cornwall, and now carries the A390. Precipitous hills. Scene of Civil War skirmish. Skeletal remains of tin and copper mines abound. Scenic railway link to Plymouth along Tamar Valley line. Nearby you can visit the Tamar Valley Donkey Park.
Charming cove to west of Lizard Peninsula, adjoining Church Cove where St. Winwalloe church overlooks beach. Separate bell tower. First transatlantic radio signals transmitted by Marconi from Poldhu Point monument. Now site of Marconi Visitors Centre. The village was once owned by the Penrose family and was part of the Penrose Estate. The cliffs in this area were much used by smugglers in the past, and stories link their activities with the Halzephron Inn.
Formerly a busy port at head of Helford River. Now picturesque village with maritime antiquities, boatyards, crafts and popular Seal Sanctuary with underwater observatory. Local pub is The Black Swan.
Small village south-east of Redruth, best known for Gwennap Pit, a grass-covered amphitheatre formed by collapsed mine workings, where John Wesley preached. Since 1807 hosts annual Whit Monday service. Museum of Cornish Methodism. Birthplace of Thomas Martyn who published several maps of the County.
Small hamlet two miles east of Hayle. Parish church of St. Gwinear dates back to the 14th century.
Thatched cottages and high sand dunes, or towans, border three mile stretch of excellent sands to east of St. Ives Bay, north of Hayle. The Red river runs into the sea at Gwithian, named as such because it used to carry effluent from the tin mines, and until about 1990 actually was quite red in colour. The church of St. Gothians was built in 1886. The village pub is now named after the river, The Red River Inn (previously the Pendarves Arms). Close to Godrevy Point overlooking Godrevy Lighthouse.
Hall for Cornwall
North-east of Camelford. It is at a crossroads on the A395 road from Davidstow to Launceston. To the east is a plantation called Wilsey Down Forest. The local pub is The Wilsey Down.
An industrial village planned by the solicitor and politician James Halse and built in the 1830's. Located one mile south of St. Ives. The parish church dedicated to St. John in the fields, was built in 1857. The local pub is The Halsetown Inn.
Small village with a sandy beach well used by surfers. Located about two miles west of Padstow, close to Trevose Head. The beaches of Constantine Bay, Porthcothan and Treyarnon are also nearby. Local pub is The Harlyn Inn.
East of Callington. The church of All Saints was built in 1871. Local pub is The Cross House Inn.
North of Saltash on the A388. Local pub is The Cardinals Hatt.
The town is proud of its three miles of golden sandy beaches with views across the bay to St. Ives which attract many thousands of visitors every year. The Towans, Cornish for sand dunes, stand proud for all to see and are a rich source of wildlife and offer enjoyable coastal walks. Former seaport and foundry town. Granite railway viaduct. Estuary of interest to ornithologists. Rare birds, endangered animals and falconry displays at Paradise Park. Richard Trevithick built his first steam-powered road carriage here.
Hayle Heritage Centre
Healeys Cornish Cyder Farm
Once a small village, but now a suburb of Penzance. The church of St. Thomas dates from 1892. The local pub is The Sportsmans Arms.
Picture postcard village on the southern side of the Helford River and now a yachtsman's haven. Daphne du Maurier's Frenchman's Creek to west. The gardens of Trebah and Glendurgan are nearby, also the oyster farm run by The Duchy of Cornwall. Pedestrian ferry across the river. During the second world war many soldiers embarked from here on the D-Day landings. Local pub is the Shipwrights Arms.
A pretty village on the north side of the Helford River. Passenger ferry across to Helford. Local pub is The Ferryboat Inn.
A small village north of Bodmin with an old mill and a Grade II listed 15th century bridge over the River Camel. The church of St. Helena sits on the slope above. The Wesleyan Chapel built here in 1878 was designed by Silvanus Trevail.
Helland Bridge Pottery
Four miles south of Bodmin. It lies on the Saints' Way. It is adjacent to Red Moor Site of Special Scientific Interest and Breney Common Special Area of Conservation and is a nature reserve managed by the Cornwall Wildlife Trust. It is the northern end of a granite ridge and there is a logan stone or rocking stone on the site. There is a prehistoric hill fort and a stone hut circle settlement on the site.
'Quaint old Cornish town' of the Furry Dance, which each May 8th spins through streets, gardens and shops. Bob Fitzsimmons, world heavyweight boxing champion, born here. Victorian Guildhall, Butter-market Folk Museum, Loe Pool and Penrose Estate for walks. Nearby R.N.A.S. Culdrose, with viewing enclosure and Air Day in July. Flambards theme park and Poldark Mine are leading tourist attractions. On main road leading to the Lizard Peninsula.
Helston Folk Museum
Small hamlet on the A39, two miles south-west of Camelford.
Very old village on the edge of Bodmin Moor, north of Minions, under the shadow of Sharptor. There is no church here but there is a chapel which is now nearly 150 years old. The village was here long before the nearby mines and the family bearing the name of Henwood still live in the parish and are able to trace their ancestry back for hundreds of years.
Small village set in a deep wooded valley and surrounded by Deer Park Forests on the west Looe river. Between Liskeard and Looe. Once the site of a gunpowder factory. The Church of All Saints was built high on the hillside in 1850. Herodsfoot is one of 51 Thankful Villages in the UK and the only one in Cornwall (the 'Thankful villages' are those that lost no men in World War I).
Between Looe and Torpoint on the A387. At the foot of a wooded valley crossing the River Seaton. Once the site of two mills and two pubs, but now just The Copley Arms, a garage and a few houses remain. The church of St. Anne is built of local stone.
West of St. Austell on the A390.
Hidden Valley Discovery Park
Hidden Valley Gardens
West of St. Austell on the A3058.
East of St. Austell on the A390. Local pub is the Holmbush Inn.
Attractive beach with towering sand dunes, west of Newquay. Leisure park. Local pubs are The Treguth Inn, and The St. Pirans Inn.
Holywell Bay Fun Park
South of Liskeard.
Horse Riding in Cornwall
How to get here (Cornwall)
How to get here (Isles of Scilly)
Small hamlet one and a half miles north of Truro. The River Allen rises north of St. Allen and flows southwards through the Idless Valley into Truro.
North of Redruth. Known as the birthplace of Richard Trevithick, and the location of Magor Farm, the only Roman villa in the south-west. The church of St. Illogan has monuments to the Basset family inside. Local pub is The Robartes Arms.
Image Map of Cornwall
Images of Cornwall
Ince Castle Gardens
Between Newquay and St. Austell. The A30 trunk road ran through the village until the construction of a bypass in the 1990's. Up to April 1780, the inn in the village had the name "The Queen's Head". Later it became "The Indian Queen". The pub was demolished in the 1960's and its old signboard resides in the Royal Cornwall Museum in Truro. Also the site of the Indian Queens Pit which was constructed in 1850 by local miners. It was restored in 1978. The local parish church is dedicated to St. Francis.
Isles of Scilly
Warmed by the Gulf Stream, buffeted by the Atlantic, relying on sea and air links with the mainland, the unique Isles of Scilly are a world apart. Populated by a friendly community of just over 2000 islanders, Scilly has a tranquillity and a quality of life long lost to less isolated places. Exotic plants and wild flowers, ancient cairns and crumbling castles, sparkling white sands by an azure sea - all the treasures of the islands await you, only 28 miles from Land's End yet with a hint of the tropics.
Isles of Scilly Museum
South of Bude. Small village with 15th century church of St. James, just off the A39 Atlantic Highway.
Jamaica Inn & Museums
Situated in the small hamlet of Bolventor, high on Bodmin Moor.
Jubilee Bathing Pool
Julia Mills Gallery
Tiny village one mile south-west of Truro. The parish church of St. Kea contains a copy of a letter from King Charles written from his camp at Sudley Castle, September 10th, 1643, thanking the people of Cornwall for their services to the Crown.
Small village close to Kit Hill, on the northern outskirts of Callington on the A388. This area is renowned for its mining industry. Kelly Bray used to be the venue for the Royal Cornwall Show until it was moved to Wadebridge. Once served by an extension of the railway line to Gunnislake. The Swingle Tree pub in the centre, is one of the oldest buildings in the village.
Popular beach on the south-east side of the Lizard Peninsula. Ruins of Poltesco serpentine stone factory worth visiting at nearby Carleon Cove (NT).
Small hamlet midway between Marazion and Penzance on the A394. The local pub is The Coach and Horses.
One mile north of Truro. The large church of St. Keyne has been mostly re-built. The large late Georgian vicarage, near the church was the Bishop's Palace from 1877-1953, which is now a school.
Kerrier Area Map
Kestle Barton Gallery and Garden
Near Newquay on the A3058, close to Trerice Manor.
Killarney Springs Adventure Park
Large village north of Bude on the A39, only two miles from the Devon border. To the west of the village there is the remains of Kilkhampton Castle, a late Norman period motte-and-bailey castle. The church with its magnificent south doorway and lofty tower of eight bells, is dedicated to St. James. Nearby is Stowe Barton which is now a farm but was previously a mansion belonging to Sir John Grenville. The local pub is The New Inn.
King Arthur's Great Halls
King Charles's Castle
King Doniert's Stone
King Edward Mine Museum
With neighbouring Cawsand, this tiny village once operated one of the largest smuggling fleets in West Country. Now anchorage for yachts at mouth of the River Tamar. Wide bay beneath wooded heights of Penlee. Fine walks around Rame Head, with Mount Edgcumbe Country Park nearby.
Kit Hill Country Park
Rising to 1,093 feet from the Tamar at Gunnislake, and towering over Callington, Kit Hill is the highest, most westerly point of Hingston Down and offers some of the finest views in Cornwall.
Famed beauty spot north-east of Lizard village on the Lizard Peninsula. Sheltered sandy coves and caves at low tide. Steep path from cliff-top car park (NT). Asparagus Island, just off shore, is so called because the crop used to grow here.
North-east of Truro on the B3275. Once the site of the Saxon church of St. Ladoca, but which was largely re-built in the 19th century. Local pub is The Falmouth Arms.
Tiny hamlet near St. Michael Penkevil with 13th century church which was rebuilt in 1845.
Situated on the Lizard Peninsula on the road to nearby Church Cove , the ancient church of St. Wynwallow has woodwork from the wreck of a Portuguese treasure ship.
A hilltop village of square stone cottages west of Saltash on the A38. Parts of the church of St. Michael's are dated 1607. Local pub is The Bullers Arms.
Mainland Britain's most westerly point, 9 miles west of Penzance and one mile from Sennen Cove. Awe-inspiring cliff scenery, views to Longships and Wolf Rock lighthouses and 28 miles west, the Isles of Scilly. Heritage centre and tourist attraction. The rugged cliffs and coastline at Land's End are amongst the most dramatic in Cornwall. The very end of the A30 road.
On the bank of the River Tamar, between Cargreen and Saltash. Once a busy port where pilgrims sailed to Spain, it was decimated by the Black Death. The church of St. Leonard is on the one of the lanes leading to Kingsmill Lake.
Attractive moorland hamlet above scenic Inney valley, north of Altarnun. Birthplace of John Couch Adams, mathematician and astronomer who discovered Neptune. In a field opposite the church of St. Sidwell is the holy 'Jordan Well' used for divination, and until comparatively recently, for baptism. The 17th century manor house of Tregeare is within the parish.
Historic manor four miles north-east of Newquay, now run as a convent.
One of the finest stately homes, located in the centre of Cornwall near Bodmin. The house has been owned by the Robartes family since 1620. Alongside the house is the largely 15th century parish church of St. Hydroc.
Small village just off the A30. Geographically in the very centre of Cornwall marked with a large stone in the graveyard of the church of St. Nivet. South-west of Bodmin and on the Saints Way. Local pub is the Lanivet Inn.
Two miles west of St. Austell on the A3058.
A rather bleak moorland parish situated above a tributary of the Fowey River, West of Lostwithiel. To the north is the mysterious, powerful landscape of Redmoor and Breney Common, part of which is protected as a nature reserve, with the great granite mass of Helman Tor isolated in its midst. To the south is the Luxulyan Valley, full of rushing water and industrial remains and spanned by the monumental Treffry viaduct/aqueduct built in 1844 by Joseph Treffry. The parish church is dedicated to St. Brevita. There is a holy well dedicated to St. Bryvyth in woodland just outside the village. The Saints Way also passes through the village. Local pub is The Crown Inn.
South of Redruth on the southern slopes of Carn Marth, on the A393. Michael Loam erected his first man engine at Tresavean mine here in 1842. A branch line once connected the mine to the Cornwall Railway. The parish church, Christ Church, was consecrated on St. Swithin's day, 1845. It was restored in 1883. Local pubs are The Coppice Inn, The Lanner Inn and The Fox & Hounds.
Small village tucked away inland between Looe and Lostwithiel. There is a large ditch and rampart called the Giant's Hedge nearby and also the Iron Age camp of Bury down. The church of St. Manarch and Dunstan has a handsome west tower. Local pub is the Punch Bowl Inn.
Lanreath Folk & Farm Museum
Between Polperro and Polruan. Fascinating 14th century church of St. Ildierna in which the base of the pulpit is a pinnacle bought down by lightning in 1923 and the tower is used as a landmark by sailors and fishermen.
Two miles south-west of Camelford. Local parish church is to St. Julitta.
Two miles east of Polruan. Local parish church is to St. Wyllow.
Lappa Valley Steam Railway
Restored miniature railway near Newquay.
On the bank of the River Tamar, north of Gunnislake.
Pretty hamlet three miles east of Bude with the 15th century church of St. Swithin.
Main town in north Cornwall, dominated by a Norman keep, the 'Castle Terrible' of Malory's Morte d'Arthur, built by Robert of Mortain. Outer and inner baileys of 12th and 13th centuries. Capital of Cornwall until 1838. St. Mary Magdalene church features exquisite carvings. Steam railway. Nearby, Tamar Otter Sanctuary, Trethorne Leisure Farm and Lakeside Gallery.
Launceston Steam Railway
Laurelin Glass Gallery
South of Launceston. St. Michael's church dates back to Norman times.
Lawrence House Museum (NT)
Charming village at the estuary of the Hayle river with long stretches of sandy beaches and dunes. Thriving seaport in the Middle Ages. Church of St. Uny and 16th century Abbey, golf course, sanctuary for wading birds on Saltings. Rosamunde Pilcher associations. Scenic rail link to St. Ives. Local pubs are The Badger Inn and The Watermill.
A pretty fairytale village with swans, ducks, village green and many little boats. Three miles south-east of Lostwithiel. This is where Kenneth Grahame came for walks while he was writing "The Wind In The Willows". This part of the Fowey River joins in with the Lerryn River with its source at Braddock. Before the second World War, sailing vessels travelled up here with quarry stone. The river can be crossed by stepping stones at low tide and, at spring tides, can flood over the green and up to, and sometimes into, the surrounding cottages. A large earth works known as the Giants Hedge runs from Lerryn to Looe. The hedge is believed to be a defensive dyke built during the Dark Ages. Local pub is The Ship Inn.
Small hamlet two miles east of Boscastle. The parish church of St. Michael's & All Angels was re-built in 1866.
Levant Beam Engine (NT)
Hilltop village just off the A30, six miles west of Launceston with commanding views across Bodmin Moor to Fox Tor. 13th century church of St. Martin, re-built after a fire in 1890. Two miles south-west, in the valley of the River Lynher, are the fragmentary remains of the medieval Upton Castle. The local pub is the The Archer Arms.
Five miles south of Launceston. In 1511 Sir Henry Trecarrel built his mansion in the parish. The parish church is dedicated to St. Briochus and was considerably restored in 1869.
North-west of Callington. The church of St. Melor has a magnificent granite tower 120 feet tall. Birthplace of Daniel Gumb who lived in a cave close to the Cheesewring. Local pub is the Church House Inn.
Busy market town in the east of the county, once linked by canal to Looe and now by-passed by the A38. St. Martins church, Guildhall and Stuart House of interest, 16th century Pipe Well. Nearby, St. Keyne Well, mechanical music museum, and Dobwalls Family Adventure Park. Main line railway station with a scenic branch line to Looe.
List of Parishes in Cornwall
Two miles south of Padstow. A small village on the main road from Padstow to Wadebridge at the head of an inlet onto the Camel Estuary. The church of St. Petroc is much embellished.
Craggy cliff scenery to the west, wooded vales to the east, and inland, the windswept plains of Goonhilly Downs with the large dishes of the satellite station pointing skywards. Fishing villages of Mullion Cove, Cadgwith, Coverack. Beaches include Poldhu, Kynance Cove and Kennack Sands. Tudor mansion of Trelowarren.
Serpentine rock gift shops clustered around village green. Walks to lighthouse, lifeboat station, mainland Britain's southernmost point.
Between Bodmin and St. Austell on the A391.
The largest natural freshwater lake in Cornwall. It is separated from the sea by the shingle bank of Loe Bar situated midway between Porthleven and Gunwalloe . The pool was originally the estuary of the River Cober which flows through the former port of Helston, two miles inland. The Pool is reputed to be the lake in which Sir Bedivere cast King Arthur's sword, Excalibur. Local superstition also warns that the Pool claims a victim every seven years. The Penrose Estate owned by The National Trust stretches from the Loe Pool to Helston. Many ships have been wrecked near Loe Bar. In 1807 there was a major tragedy when the frigate HMS Anson was driven against the reefs and between 130 and 190 sailors were killed.
Longcross Victorian Gardens
Two miles south of St. Austell on the B3273. The village takes its name from the London Apprentice Inn, which formerly stood on the main road. A Methodist Church was built in the village in 1870, but closed in 1988 and is now a private dwelling. Today, the village caters mainly for tourists. The route of the narrow gauge railway from St. Austell to Pentewan is now a footpath and cycle path, known as the Pentewan Trail.
Village between Penzance and Marazion on the A30. Local pubs are The Mexico Inn and the Mount View Hotel.
Small village on A394, between Penryn and Helston. Surrounded by used and disused granite quarries. Local pub is The Stonemasons Arms.
East and West Looe joined by seven-arched bridge. Holiday resort of character, with several beaches, bustling quayside, unique Banjo Pier. Shark angling centre, two museums and St. Nicholas church. Nearby, monkey sanctuary, mechanical music collection at St. Keyne, Lanreath folk and farm museum. Terminus of railway branch line from Liskeard. St. Georges or Looe Island lies just off the coast.
Looe Valley Vineyard
Quiet, charming 13th century capital of Cornwall with 15th century bridge over the River Fowey. Guildhall, Old Duchy Palace and St. Bartholomew's church. Restormel Castle, north of town, besieged in Civil War. Braddock Down, to east, site of famous Royalist victory. Main line railway station.
Lovely Cornwall (Home Page)
On the bank of the River Tamar, north of Gunnislake.
Small village just off the A30 between Penzance and Hayle. Set on a hill overlooking Mounts Bay, Ludgvan's church of St. Paul, originally St. Ludowanus, is chiefly 15th century and sports a collection of gargoyles on its tower. Local pub is The White Hart.
West of Lostwithiel set amidst scenery of outstanding natural beauty, sandwiched between the Devil's Stone and the 15th century church of St. Cyriacus. The village is surrounded by granite quarries from which granite was taken to build Plymouth breakwater and London Bridge. Also the location of the famous viaduct built by Joseph Treffry in 1844 to carry a railway and an aqueduct. St. Cyor's Holy Well, under a stone canopy at the lower end of the village, is now dried up. Still has a railway station on the Newquay branch line. The local pub is the Kings Arms.
Luxulyan Museum and Heritage Centre
One mile west of Penryn. Village has 15th century church of St. Laudus. Local pub is The New Inn.
Located one mile north of Penzance. The moors behind Madron village abound with ancient relics, one of the most imposing being Ding Dong Mine engine house, which has recently been carefully renovated. The church of St. Maddern, with Trafalgar Banner celebrating Nelson's victory, was once the parish church of Penzance. The Trengwainton Gardens (NT) are nearby. The village pub is known as the King William the Fourth.
Two miles south-west of Falmouth. Great views across the Bay towards Pendennis Castle and some superb walking along the Coastal Footpath. The sandy beach shelves gently and at low water leaves an area of shallow water that is safe for swimming and has facilities for launching boats, scuba diving and sea kayaking. Other facilities include car parking, a cafe and public toilets. At low water the 1978 shipwreck of the Ben Asdale can be seen. Local pub is The Cove Restaurant.
Magnificent Music Machines
St. Keyne near Liskeard.
One mile north of Kingsand. The church of St. Julian is a typical 15th century Cornish building. Fort Picklecombe, near Maker, was commissioned by Lord Palmerston as one of a series of coastal defences against possible French invasion. It has since been converted into residential apartments. William Hughes the barrister and author, was born here in 1803.
About two miles south of Truro, at a point where two rivers meet, and where boat trips terminate when the tides dictate. Tiny church of St. Andrew in picturesque location. Local passenger ferry across the river. Local pub is The Heron Inn.
A small country village on the Lizard Peninsula near to Helford with a church (St. Manaccus) that has an unusual claim to fame, for out of its south wall grows a fig tree. The well in the village square was restored to commemorate the Queen's Silver Jubilee in 1977. Local pub is The New Inn.
Situated on the east coast of the Lizard, is the most dreaded of all reefs and stands in a perfect position to catch shipping on its way to Falmouth.
Maps of Cornwall
District Council Areas.
Cornwall's oldest charter town located east of Penzance just off the A394. This quaint village can claim to be the oldest town in Britain, called Ictis by the Romans. It is possible to walk or take a ferry, depending upon the tide, to St. Michael's Mount - the island home of the St. Aubyn family. Interest is centred on the excellent beach and the splendid sailing and windsurfing waters, but there are also some lovely coastal and inland walks. Local pubs are The Godolphin Arms, The Fire Engine Inn, The Station House and The Kings Arms.
Marconi Visitors Centre
Poldhu near Mullion
Quiet hilltop village within sight of the sea at Widemouth Bay near Bude, consists of thatched cob cottages and the modest 14th century church of St. Marwenna with its magnificent old oak door and 'sanctuary knocker' which meant that fugitives could enjoy the protection of the church for 40 days. From 1819 sea-sand and lime were brought from Bude by canal to be used as fertiliser by local farms. Local pub is the Bullers Arms Hotel.
Marsh Villa Gardens
Three acre water and woodland garden in Par.
Small village on the A39 Atlantic Highway, three miles east of Boscastle.
Mary Newman's Cottage
Sir Francis Drakes first wife's house in Saltash.
Some pretty cottages nestle in a wooded valley south of the Helford River. The parish church is dedicated to St. Mauganus. Nearby is Trelowarren, the estate of the Vyvyan family who have owned it since 1427. Local pub is The Ship Inn.
Delightful cove with fine sandy beach to north of Watergate Bay on Atlantic coast surrounded by high cliffs and with a stream flowing to the sea. Easy access from Newquay on the B3276. Nearby are Bedruthan Steps. Close to Newquay Airport. Local pub is The Merrymoor Inn.
Small hamlet with 13th century church of St. Maunanus. Situated along the coast from Helford Passage overlooking the mouth of the Helford River.
Situated approximately three miles south of Falmouth. The village name may derive from the fact that it once had four working smithies. The parish church of St. Mawnan & St. Stephen is in Mawnan village. A second church, St. Michael's, was built in the village in 1876 and there was also a Wesleyan Methodist chapel in the village. Three outstanding gardens nearby: Penjerrick, Trebah and Glendurgan (NT). Fishing hamlet of Durgan (NT) is also nearby. Good walks in all directions. Local pub is The Red Lion.
Basket weaving centre at St. Issey near Wadebridge.
Between Fowey and Par.
Two and a half miles south-east of Liskeard. Large church of St. Lalluwy was restored in Victorian times. Once famous for its stone quarries and lead mines. Local pub is The White Hart Hotel.
One mile south of the main village and location of the main line railway station which opened in 1859. Local pub is the Sportsmans Arms Hotel.
East of Liskeard on the A390.
Tiny hamlet on the east side of the Tresillian River, the site of a former church and a manor house. A new church was built to replace it at Tresillian Bridge in 1904.
South of Gunnislake. Local pub is the Carpenters Arms.
Small, tightly-knit fishing village once with links to smuggling, now with quayside pubs and open-air cafes, south of St. Austell, very popular with the tourists in summer. The Lost Gardens of Heligan nearby.
Mevagissey Model Railway
Small hamlet three miles south of Camelford.
Mid Cornwall Galleries
St. Blazey Gate.
Located between Looe and Seaton at the end of a wooded valley filled with holiday chalets. Nearby is the Monkey Sanctuary.
A large village in a quiet corner of the Rame peninsula, south of Torpoint on the B3247. It lies at the head of a long tidal creek and the most attractive approach is along the lane from Mount Edgcumbe especially at high tide. This was once a busy place and there are traces of former industries, including a tide mill, lime-kilns, quarries and brickworks. There are two chapels and a very large church built in 1895 . Local pubs are The Devon & Cornwall Inn and The Heart in Hand.
Mineral Tramways Trails
Mining in Cornwall
Bodmin Moor hamlet, once the centre of mining activity, and with a railway running the village, it now boasts to have the highest pub in Cornwall (The Cheesewring Hotel) at over 1000 feet above sea level, The setting of E V Thompson's historical novel 'Chase the Wind', a century ago the area would have been teeming with miners and quarrymen seeking granite, copper and lead, but today the nearby Cheesewring Quarry is deserted except for rock climbers. On the edge of the quarry stands the Cheesewring itself, an extraordinary natural tor formed from precariously balanced rocks. Bronze Age stone circles and mine ruins nearby. One of the engine houses of the South Phoenix Mine has been converted into The Minions Heritage Centre.
Minions Heritage Centre
Housed in a restored engine house.
Village on the A30 about six miles north of Truro. Local pub is The Plume of Feathers.
Picturesque hamlet about a mile east of St. Agnes. The church, built in 1861, was dedicated to St. Peter and rather remotely located north of Chiverton Cross. The architect was William White. The original spire and tower became unsafe and were taken down in 1898; a replacement tower with no spire was built in 1928. Local pub is The Miners Arms.
South of Liskeard on the A38. Still has one of Brunel's viaducts. Once formed the junction of the Liskeard & Caradon Railway and the Liskeard & Looe Canal.
A small village in a wild moorland setting, a few miles north of Land's End. Spectacular cliff scenery from this part of the to coastal footpath. The 15th century church of St. Morwetha was used as a beacon for shipping. Near to the ancient sites of Chun Castle, Chun Quoit and Men-an-tol.
Two miles north of Looe. Morval House was the family home of the Buller and Kitson families down the years. The 13th century parish church is dedicated to St. Wenna and is situated in a very secluded location. Bindown golf course nearby.
A small village in the far north of Cornwall, near to the border, just north of Bude, and once the base for wreckers who lured ships onto the rocks. Home of 19th century vicar-poet Parson Hawker, who wrote in a cliff-top hut, his poem The Song of the Western Men, with its famous line 'And shall Trelawny die?' which has become the Cornish National Anthem. The part-Norman church of St. John Baptist has the graves of over 40 Shipwrecked sailors and a Caledonian figurehead in the graveyard.
East of Bodmin.
Mount Edgcumbe House & Country Park
Country park incorporating majestic stretch of Heritage coastline from Plymouth to Whitsand Bay. House, gardens, park. Nearby Queen Anne mansion of Antony House (NT).
Small former mining village about two miles south of St. Agnes with the church of St. John built in 1878. Now the location of a large indoor skatepark.
Classic fishing village west of Penzance, once a major pilchard landing port. Retains considerable character. Burned by Spanish privateers in 1595. Famous for Xmas lights and Tom Bawcock's Eve (December 23rd) celebrated with fish lantern procession and Star-Gazey Pies. Local pub is The Ship Inn.
Mousehole Bird Hospital & Sanctuary
The largest village on the Lizard with shops, inns, cafes and restaurants, craft shops and art galleries. This close-knit village, has an interesting 15th century church of St. Melanus with carved bench-ends, and stands above the sturdy harbour of Porth Mellin (NT). Excellent walking. Marconi monument at Poldhu Cove. . The cove is dominated by the Poldhu Hotel built in 1901. Local pubs are the The Old Inn and The Mounts Bay Inn.
Museum of Cornish Methodism
Music, Drama, Arts & Crafts
A village at the head of the Mylor Creek, one of the many arms of Falmouth Harbour. The church of St. Mylor has monuments to the Trefusis, Bonython and Lemon families. Two miles north of Falmouth. Carclew House & Gardens nearby. Local pubs are The Pandora Inn and The Lemon Arms.
Between Camborne and Helston on the B3303.
Mid-way between Penzance and St. Ives on the B3311. Local pub is The Engine Inn.
North-west of St. Austell on the B3279, in the heart of the china clay district. A goods train still runs through the area serving the quarries. Nanpean church was built in 1879 and is dedicated to St. George-the-Martyr. There has been a school in the village since 1898. Local pub is The Grenville Arms.
Two miles west of Bodmin on the bank of the River Camel. Site of Roman fort discovered in 1969. The local parish church is St. Stephen's.
Excellent viewpoint near the Roseland Peninsula. Between the headland and Veryan is the impressive Bronze Age mound of Carne Beacon, the legendary burial place of a Cornish king and his ship.
National Maritime Museum
National Seal Sanctuary
New Mills Farm Park
Small hamlet on the A3071 between Penzance and St. Just. Local pub is the Fountain Inn.
Premiere fishing port in the south-west, located about a mile west of Penzance. Here a remarkable combination of busy industry and Cornish tradition creates a fascinating world. The Penlee lifeboat is moored in the harbour and the old lifeboat house, situated on the cliff between Newlyn and Mousehole remains in memory of the Solomon Browne lifeboat and its crew lost in 1981. Newlyn is also famous for its Art Gallery which houses local work, and for The Pilchard Works, the last working salt pilchard factory.
Unquestionably Cornwall's most popular and liveliest resort. Town overlooks succession of fine beaches and dramatic cliffs. Major centre for surfing. Zoo, golf course, leisure park, Blue Reef Aquarium, Tunnels through Time, and plentiful night life. Balloon Festival and Newquay 1900 week in July. Nearby, Elizabethan Trerice Manor, Dairyland Farm World, Lappa Valley Railway, and annual Air Day at RAF St. Mawgan. Terminus of railway branch line from Par
Newquay Animal World (Zoo)
Newlyn Art Gallery
Newquay Heritage Archive & Museum
Newlyn Society of Artists
North Cornwall Map (East)
North Cornwall Map (North)
North Cornwall Map (West)
North Cornwall Museum & Gallery
Hamlet one mile north of Redruth.
Fine moorland village on the eastern edge of Bodmin Moor high above the River Lyhner. Inside the 14th century church are a number of fine monuments to the Spoure family who occupied nearby Trebartha Manor for almost 250 years. Local pub is The Racehorse Inn.
Small village about four miles north of Launceston. The parish church is dedicated to St. Paternus.
Midway between Bude and Launceston close to the River Tamar. The 15th century church of St. Denis is built of courses of contrasting dark stone and granite.
Notable Cornish Families
On the A38 between Landrake and Saltash. The lowest crossing point on The River Lynher. Local pubs is The Notter Bridge Inn.
Obby Oss Day
Old MacDonald's Farm
Between Camelford and Bude just off the A39. Once served by The North Cornwall Railway.
North of Wadebridge on the A389. Derived from Petrocstowe, after St. Petroc who arrived here in the 6th century. Once ecclesiastical capital of Cornwall, built on hillside overlooking Camel Estuary. Many intact medieval buildings fringing busy fishing harbour. 15th century Abbey House, 16th century Court House of Sir Walter Raleigh, Tudor mansion of Prideaux Place. Home of the centuries-old Obby Oss May Day dance. Fine beaches at St. George's Well and Trevone Bay are nearby. Camel Trail follows former railway line. The infamous Doom Bar stretches across the mouth of the estuary which has been the downfall of over 300 ships. Base for the Rick Stein empire. Northern end of The Saints' Way.
Padstow Visitor Centre
A small hamlet in the parish of St. Neot, about one mile south of Warleggan on the road from St. Neot to Cardinham and on the River Warleggan.
Situated on the south coast between St. Austell and Fowey on the A3082. Originally developed as a mineral port by entrepreneur Joseph Treffry between 1829 and 1841 when 35 acres of water were enclosed by a large breakwater. The harbour has been owned by English China Clay since 1964 and together with Charlestown and Fowey, exports over a million tons of china clay a year. Main line railway station with a branch line to Newquay.
Small village just west of Redruth. Local pub is The New Inn.
Small village of sturdy granite cottages on the road between Mousehole and Newlyn. The church of St. Pol de Leon dates back to the 15th century and the popular traditional pub, The Kings Arms dates back to the 18th century. The church was badly damaged by fire in 1595 during an attack on Mousehole, Paul, Newlyn and Penzance by Spanish soldiers who landed by boat. Scorch marks from the fire can still be seen on some of the stonework within the church. Within the churchyard there is a memorial to Dolly Pentreath, reputedly and disputably the last native speaker of the Cornish Language.
North-west of Looe on the B3359. Known for Bishop Jonathan Trelawny of Trelawny Manor, which is now a holiday complex. The parish church is dedicated to St. Nonna. The Pelynt male choir regard Parson Hawker's song Trelawny as their own. Local pub is the Jubilee Inn.
Small fishing village near Land's End.
Pencarrow House & Gardens
Formerly a major tin producing village, north of St. Just, latterly production has ceased but its history is told at the Geevor Tin Mine Museum. Another popular attraction is the lighthouse. Walk the Hard Rock Trail through areas which convey the spirit of Pendeen's past.
Midway between Land's End and St. Ives.
Three miles south-west of Delabole on the B3314. Local pub is The Cornish Arms.
Two miles south of Truro. Local pub is the Punch Bowl & Ladle.
Peninnis Head Lighthouse
St. Mary's, Isles of Scilly.
Penlee Art Gallery & Museum
Small village one mile west of Camborne.
South of Padstow.
Penrose Water Gardens
Now almost a suburb of Falmouth, Penryn is a far earlier settlement, based around an ecclesiastical centre, closed at the time of the dissolution of the monasteries. A busy port from medieval times, it was used to export granite from nearby Mabe in the construction of numerous projects such as Waterloo Bridge, The Old Bailey and New Scotland Yard. Local pubs are The Seven Stars, The Kings Arms Hotel, The Famous Barrel and The Thirsty Scholar.
A large village on the edge of Bodmin Moor. Originally built as local housing for the many nearby mines. Still has shops, a pub (The Victoria Inn) and buses to Liskeard etc.
Sleepy Village tucked away at the far end of a large and popular beach just off the B3273. Once a busy harbour built by a local mine owner for shipping china clay. The village pub, the Ship Inn, is small and friendly with tables on the old harbour-side. Between St. Austell and Mevagissey.
Pentewan Valley Trail
Trail from London Apprentice to Pentewan.
Penwith Area Map
Penwith Society of Art
Three miles north of St. Austell on the B3374. Local pub is the Innis Inn.
Bustling town and harbour on the A30. Cornwall's only promenade. Ideal centre for touring Land's End. Aquarium, maritime and mineral museums, Egyptian House (Landmark Trust), National Lighthouse Centre, art galleries, Morrab and Trengwainton gardens. Home of Mazey Day and Golowan Festival, July maritime festival. Stepping-off point for Isles of Scilly, by ferry or helicopter, or Skybus from St. Just (five miles). Main line railway terminus. Many cafes and pubs.
South of Newquay on the B3285. Family resort on three mile beach facing the Atlantic, popular for surfing. Hosts October Celtic music and dance festival. Chapel of St. Piran buried beneath sands. First Poldark novel written here by author, Winston Graham. Iron Age fortification of St. Piran's Round. Local airfield popular for gliding.
A characteristic Cornish village with a popular, sheltered sandy beach, one mile east of Marazion. The village also boasts the oldest inn in Cornwall, The Victoria Inn. Prussia Cove nearby with its links to smuggling. The little church of St. Piran has views of St. Michael's Mount.
Between Truro and Falmouth. Still has a railway station on the Falmouth branch-line. Local pub is the Royal Oak
Between Truro and Penryn on the A39. Holy Well to St. Piran in the village. Location of the Perran Iron Foundry, and the Norway Inn.
A mile inland from Perranporth, a tiny hamlet with a church to St. Piran dating back to the 7th century. Local pub is The Whitehouse Inn.
Perranzabuloe Folk Museum
On the edge of the large area of sand dunes facing Hayle. The church of St. Felicitas still has a 15th century tower. Local pub is The Bucket of Blood.
A pretty village on the Roseland Peninsula near the River Fal with the very picturesque 16th century Roseland Inn.
Between Camborne and Redruth. Local pub is The Countryman Inn.
Church of St. Odulphus has a well preserved set of 18th century stocks in the porch. The Weary Friar Inn is a well known hotel and restaurant which provides a traditional setting for the Christmas Eve meet of the East Cornwall Hunt. Nearby Clapper Bridge over the River Lyhner is a local beauty spot. Between Saltash and Callington.
Pine Lodge Gardens
Pinsla Garden and Nursery
St. Anthony Head.
Village south-west of Truro to the east of the A39 road. The name derives from Cornish 'plain an gwarry' (meaning "playing place"), an open air performance area used historically for entertainment and instruction.
Small hamlet south of Rilla Mill with 15th century bridge over the River Lynher.
A mile down the estuary from Devoran, between Truro and Falmouth. Tin and copper from the local mines used to shipped from the quay here which was transported along an extension of the Redruth & Chacewater Railway.
Known for The Halfway House pub which is situated halfway between Looe and Torpoint on the A374.
Between Porthleven and Mullion. It was on the cliffs here on December 12th 1901, that the first trans-Atlantic radio transmission was sent, and was received by Marconi, on Signal Hill in St. Johns, Newfoundland, Canada. A monument, and the Marconi Visitors Center marks the spot.
Small harbour between Fowey and St. Austell, has a lime kiln on the curved quay which was built by Philip Rashleigh, in the late 18th century, to burn limestone and produce lime for conditioning the soil for local farmers. Now a picturesque place to spend time relaxing. Local pub is The Rashleigh Inn.
Two miles west of St. Austell. The Great Polgooth tin mine used to employ over 1000 people in 1800. The village grew up amongst the mines. The old count house survives, as does one of the old engine houses and a stamping mill (all now converted to private residences) plus several miners cottages. In 2000 the prime minister Tony Blair visited Polgooth Post Office for a photo opportunity, to the bemusement of several residents. Local pub is The Polgooth Inn.
East of Par on the A3082.
Small hamlet one mile south-west of Wadebridge.
Showpiece harbour fishing village about four miles west of Looe, featured on many chocolate boxes. Tightly packed cottages tumble down to Fish Quay, on inner harbour, once packed with pilchard luggers. Many houses of interest, Couch's House (1595), House on Props, Old Watch House. The church of St. John was built in 1838. Coastal Cliff-path to bays and beaches. Severely flooded in 1976.
Polperro Heritage Museum
Polperro Model Village
Small fishing and boat building village across the river from Fowey. Cottages cling to the steep hillside amidst winding alleys and passageways. Spectacular views across the estuary. The parish church of St. Winwaloe is in a farmyard enclosed by fields and a few elms. Local pubs are the Lugger Inn and the Russell Inn.
Pretty but quiet little village west of Launceston. Site of the busy Black Hill quarry.
Betjeman country, extolled in his verse. Poet buried at church of St. Enodoc on sand dunes. Fine bathing and surfing beach. Fine walking around the National Trust owned Pentire and Rumps Points. Nearby Rock, a centre for dinghy sailing, and just to the east is the Porteath Bee Centre.
Between Redruth and Penryn on the A393. Local pub is The Stag Hunt Inn.
Between Camborne and Redruth on the A3047. Once the site of Holmans engineering works. Location of South Crofty Mine, Heartlands and East Pool Mine. Local pubs are the Plume of Feathers and The Railway Inn.
Poppy Cottage Garden
Porfell Wildlife Park
Small village three and a half miles north-east of Helston. The village has a pub (The Star Inn), Methodist chapel, village hall and primary school.
Port Eliot House
Family home of Earl of St. Germans in the village of St. Germans.
Narrow shingle beach at the end of deep winding valley, half a mile north of Port Isaac. Slate from Delabole Quarry was once loaded onto sailing ships here. Old pilchard cellars.
Four miles north of Wadebridge on the B3267. Narrow twisting streets, fish cellars, geranium-filled alleys ('drangs'), small beach. Location for famous Poldark TV series. Fishing harbour since Middle Ages. Fine church and twice-yearly music festival at nearby St. Endellion. Nearby Port Quin and Port Gaverne provide fine walks around National Trust coastlines. A short distance inland are the Longcross Victorian Gardens.
Small fishing community known by some as 'the village that died' after the entire male population disappeared in the 19th century. A small rugged inlet harbour on the North Cornish coast that has a compelling atmosphere all of its own. The headland on the south side of Port Quin is known as Doyden Point whereon you will find Doyden Castle, which was built in 1830 as a retreat for some local businessman. Port Quin has also been a location for the TV series Poldark.
Porteath Bee Centre
A sea-side village only a mile north of Newquay on the B3276, has a large sheltered family beach. Local pub is The Mermaid Inn.
East of Helston on the Helford River. Well known for the oyster beds in the creek.
Completed in 1960 the reservoir covers an area of about 40 acres near Newquay.
Porthallow near the Manacles reef on the east coast of the Lizard was once a busy village engaged in the pilchard fishing industry. It is now popular with locals and visitors alike, if only for the sake of its pub. Situated right beside the beach and aptly called the Five Pilchards Inn, it contains a marvellous collection of photographs and items retrieved from the wrecks.
A fine sandy beach in a break in the cliffs on the north coast between Newquay and Trevose head. Local pub is The Tredrea Inn.
Exquisite beach with tortuous approach road, south-east of Land's End. Famous cliff-top Minack Open-air Theatre, founded by Rowena Cade, performances May to September, overlooking Logan Rock. Museum of Wireless Telegraphy. Local pub is The Cable Station.
Porthcurno Telegraph Museum
Quaint fishing village on southern tip of Land's End peninsula. Sandy beach and coast walks.
Small hamlet just south of Rock.
Pleasant harbour town two miles south-west of Helston on the B3304, with waterfront inns, galleries and craft shops. Developed last century, still a working fishing port. three section harbour with wooden baulks lowered against storms. Loe Bar and Pool, Penrose Estate with its 17th century manor house, is worth exploring on foot. The church of St. Bartholomew was built in 1842.
Fishing hamlet with twin coves on the Roseland Peninsula at the foot of tall cliffs accessible only by a narrow lane. Nearby is Caerhays Castle.
Secluded shingle coves, notable for angling and diving, on east side of Lizard Peninsula. Several fishing boats still operate from the beach catching lobster and crab. Close to Manacles reef.
Two miles from St. Austell, with a beach which is safe and sandy, ideal for families and popular with windsurfers, swimmers and sailors. The parish church is dedicated to St. Levan and was built by the Sawle family as part of the Penrice Estate. It was given to the parish on the death of Mrs Cobbold Sawle in 1981. There is a local golf club and a sailing club. Birthplace of David Treffry, a member of the old Cornish family of Treffry.
Typical cove, set in cliffs on north coast, west of St. Agnes, popular as a local seaside resort in Victorian and Edwardian times. Good beach. Renowned for surfing. Local pub is The Victory Inn.
A living reality of a Cornish fishing village located on the Roseland Peninsula. The boats unload lobster, crab and other fish. Pretty cottages cluster around the harbour and stretch up the valley on both sides. Local pub is The Ship Inn.
One mile south of Mevagissey. The sandy beach at Portmellon is safe for bathing and there is a public slipway for launching boats and the village has a long history of building boats. The true nature of this delightful little east facing cove is betrayed by the fact that all the houses along the sea front have stout wooden shutters which can be closed over their windows for those times when storms drive the waves over the sea wall. Local pub is The Rising Sun Inn.
Thriving holiday centre with family beach, north of Camborne on the B3300. 18th century harbour with narrow entrance, built by the Basset family for coal imports and copper exports, served by steep rail-track. Starting point for the Mineral Tramway walks. Good cliff walks and Tehidy Country Park close by.
Pleasant, secluded Roseland village and beach with some interesting craft and gift shops and a small harbour. TV drama The Camomile Lawn filmed near here. Local pub is the Plume of Feathers.
Tiny resort on Whitsand Bay, midway between Looe and Rame Head, developed around medieval harbour, but much frequented by smugglers. Golf course.
One mile north-west of Bude. Pronounced 'poffle', village of flowers and thatch. The church of St. Olaf, a Norwegian King is 15th century. Sir Goldsworthy Gurney once lived here. Local pub is the Preston Gate Inn.
Six miles south of Bude, small village with 14th century church of St. Winwaloe in a secluded dell by a stream.
15th century Gildhouse, the only one in Cornwall, with magnificent Royal Coat of Arms. Near Bude.
Mile-long family beach on Mount's Bay between Penzance and Helston. Golf course. Walks to cliff-top mine houses at Rinsey. Poldark Christmas Special 1995 filmed here. Local pub is The Sandbar.
South of Camborne on the crossroads of the B3303 and the B3280 . Bordering the village is the Clowance estate and mansion house which was owned by the St. Aubyn family until 1919. The village pub is called the St. Aubyn Arms.
Prideaux Place, House & Garden
Elizabethan Manor House near Padstow.
A small village just off the main St. Austell to Truro road, built on high ground between the Rivers Fal and Tresillian, Probus boasts Cornwall's tallest church tower at 125 feet, beautifully carved and dating from the 16th century. A monument to the Hawkins family whose ancestral home this was, stands in the churchyard. Also the site of the seven acre County Demonstration Gardens. Also nearby are Trewithen Gardens. The local pub is The Hawkins Arms.
Tiny cleft in cliff-face, a few miles east of St.Michael's Mount. Haunt of famous 18th century smuggler, John Carter, self-styled King of Prussia. HMS Warspite ran aground here on the 23rd April 1947 while being towed to the breakers yard. One of the most renowned of Cornish smuggling coves with a world famous music conservatory. Marvellous walks along the coastal footpath.
East of Newquay. On the junction of the A392 and A3058 roads. Still has a railway station on the Newquay branch line. Local pubs are The Two Clomes and The Quintrell Inn.
East of Liskeard. The church of St. Hugo has a tall thin tower. Formerly part of the Pentillie Estate and owned by Squire Coryton.
Prominent headland Between Looe and Plymouth.
Hamlet between St. Cleer and Golitha Falls.
Once bustling centre of Cornish mining industry, celebrated annually with Murdoch Weekend in May. Cornish Studies Library. Derelict stack-houses abound. Overlooked by the bracken-covered, 738 feet high, Carn Brea, crowned with monument to mine-owner Sir Francis Basset, renovated castle (now a restaurant), Neolithic ramparts and hut circles. Nearby shire horse centre at Treskillard. Main line railway station.
Redruth Old Cornwall Society Museum
Between Redruth and Portreath.
Small hamlet on the B3280 near Marazion.
A five arched medieval bridge spanning the River Fowey near Lanhydrock. The bridge played an important part in the Civil War, lying as it did between the two major estates of Lanhydrock and Boconnoc which were on opposing sides.
Restormel Area Map
Between Callington and Launceston.
North of Liskeard. Local pub is The Manor House Inn.
Between Praa Sands and Porthleven.
Robert Stephen Hawker
Situated on the northern fringes of china clay country north of St. Austell on the B3274. The church of St. Gonandus was re-built in 1822. Nearby Roche Rock is noted for its towering rock with the 14th century chapel of St. Michael built into the summit, a natural sound stage for the Cornish Gorsedd celebrating pre-Christian oral tradition. Still has a railway station on the Newquay branch line. Local pubs are The Poachers Inn and The Rock Inn.
Village in a small estuary inlet, frequented by the sailing fraternity. Passenger ferry from here runs across the Camel Estuary to Padstow. Family beach at Daymer Bay. Nearby 13th century St. Enodoc church where Sir John Betjeman and his mother are buried. Spectacular St. Enodoc Golf Course, said to be the best in the country. Local pub is The Pityme Inn.
A mile east of Perranporth.
Roseland House, Garden & Nursery
Three miles east of Penzance on the A394. Local pub is The Falmouth Packet Inn.
At 1311 feet the second highest hill on Bodmin Moor.
Round Island Lighthouse
Isles of Scilly.
Royal Cornwall Museum
Royal Cornwall Show
Royal Navy Air Station Culdrose
On the Roseland peninsula. The fine church includes some Norman masonry and a tower built in 1675. The River Fal was once navigable well up past here. Local pub is The Kings Head.
Small village on the east side of The Lizard Peninsula, three miles from Lizard Village. Local pub is The Potters Bar.
One mile north of St. Austell.
Three miles south of Padstow.
the Runnel Stone
One mile south of Gwennap Head. The scene of many shipwrecks.
West of Bodmin. Site of an early 15th century bridge with two pointed arches over the Ruthern. The hamlet here was until 1933, a halt on the Bodmin to Wadebridge railway line.
Former tin mining town, north of Truro, radiating from pleasant square. Three beaches, including Chapel Porth (NT) and Trevaunance, once a busy port. Wheal Coates, on beacon, exceptional engine house. Museum, leisure park. Cornwall's most famous painter, John Opie, was born at nearby Harmony Cottage in 1761. Magnificent views from St. Agnes Beacon. Presingoll Barns craft centre and Blue Hills Tin Streaming Works at Trevellas coombe. Local pubs are The Railway Inn and The Peterville Inn.
St. Agnes Museum
St. Agnes (Isles of Scilly)
St. Agnes Lighthouse
North of Truro. The parish church was built in the Norman period but enlarged by the addition of the south aisle in the 15th century.
St. Anns Chapel
East of Callington on the A390. Local pub is The Rifle Volunteer.
A small secluded beach at the mouth of the Helford River. Excellent sailing facilities. Low tide stepping stones across Gillian creek for coast path walkers. The parish church is dedicated to St. Anthony and is situated near Gillan Harbour. Dennis Head was a stronghold during the Civil War. Bosahan Gardens nearby.
Small village at the very end of the Roseland Peninsula. The parish church of St. Anthony was built in 1150 and dedicated to St. Antoninus King and Martyr. The church was established by the prior of the Augustinian Priory. The site of the former priory is now the site of the house of the Spry family, Place Manor, which was built in 1840 in front of the church.
St. Anthony Head
The Roseland Peninsula.
St. Antony Head Lighthouse
Capital of 'Cornish Alps', ethereal white mini-mountains of china clay industry. Bustling town with narrow streets and pleasant pedestrian shopping precincts, 15th century Holy Trinity church, market hall, Museum. Brewery visitor centre. Nearby, Wheal Martyn museum, Mid-Cornwall Galleries at Biscovey, Automobilia motor museum at St. Stephen. Main line railway station.
St. Austell Brewery Visitor Centre
St. Austell Town Museum
The town was once dominated by the local mining operations and later by china clay. Once connected to Par harbour by the Par canal. The Par to Newquay railway runs through the town but its station closed in 1925. Between St. Austell and Lostwithiel. The parish church was dedicated to St. Blaise in 1445, although the parish was known as Landrayth until the 16th century. The Eden project is nearby. Local pubs are the Four Lords and the Packhorse Inn.
St. Blazey Trail
Trail from St. Blazey to The Eden Project.
Village south of Wadebridge, with idyllic 13th century church. A slab in the churchyard remembers wicked Jan Tregeagle, chief steward of Lanhydrock, whose legendary punishments included emptying Dozmary pool with a leaking limpet shell. Nearby St. Breock Downs with its megalithic stones and superb views.
St. Breock Gallery
High moorland village situated on the western edge of Bodmin moor. Once known as Simonward, after Simon Ward the brewer to King Arthur's Court! The 15th century church here, claims to be sited higher than any other church in the county. The village's only pub, The Old Inn, has stood on the site since the 11th century. Nearby is an old clapper bridge over the De Lank River. Stone hewn from the De Lank Quarry was also used to construct some important landmarks such has the Eddystone Lighthouse, built in 1882, the Beachy Head Lighthouse, built in 1900, and of course London's Tower Bridge which was built in 1890.
Five miles east of Land's End. 15th century church of St. Buriana with rood screen, granite tower offers a daymark for shipping around Land's End. Film Straw Dogs shot here. Bronze and Iron Age relics, including 19-stone Merry Maidens circle. St. Buryan Feast held here each May. Local pub is the St. Buryan Inn.
St. Catherine's Castle
Situated on the tip of the rocky headland known as St. Catherine's Point, Fowey at the entrance to the River Fowey estuary.
Bodmin Moor village, built to house the mine workers during the copper mining boom. Three miles north of Liskeard, with 15th century church and enclosed well. Neolithic Trethevy Quoit, inscribed King Doniert's Stone, Siblyback Lake and Golitha Falls beauty spot nearby.
Located to the south of Truro on the thickly wooded tidal Tresillian River, rich in bird-life including many heron, lies the delightful hamlet of St. Clement with its thatched and whitewashed cottages. The most notable building is the 13th century church with a lychgate containing an upper room, used as a schoolroom in days gone by. Once the location of Moresk Castle but no traces remain today.
Small hamlet situated between Launceston and Camelford just south of the A395 in the scenic River Inny Valley. The original Norman church of St. Clederus was, apart from the tower, rebuilt in 1865. It also has a beautifully situated Holy Well dedicated to Saint Cleder, dating back to Celtic times.
St. Columb Major
Six miles east of Newquay. Famous for its church of St. Columbia which has a 600-year-old four tiered tower and tombs of the Arundell family. The village has some very narrow streets and many slate hung cottages. Home of Shrove Tuesday hurling contest played with silver ball. Annual music festival. Iron Age hillfort Castle-an-Dinas two miles to east and nearby Springfields Pony Centre and Fun Park. Local pubs are the Ring o Bells and the Red Lion.
St. Columb Minor
One mile east of Newquay on the A3059. The church of St. Columba dates back to the 15th century. The local pub is The Farmers Arms.
St. Columb Road
East of Newquay on the A392. Still has a railway station on the Newquay branch line. Local pub is the Queen and Railway Inn.
Mining village with many miners cottages adjacent to Gwennap Pit, where John Wesley preached; in August a centre for Walsingham Pilgrims. Local pubs are The Star Inn and The St. Day Inn.
Between Indian Queens and St. Austell. Famous for its church built on an Iron age hill-fort. The tips and pits of china clay mining lie all around the village, but the village itself is designated an "island settlement" which prevents encroachment by the industry. The church of St. Dionisius is situated on top of a hill overlooking the village and has views to the sea at Newquay. There were once three Methodist chapels here. The local pubs are The Commercial Inn and The Boscawen Hotel.
Four miles east of Callington. Cotehele House and the River Tamar nearby. The church of St. Dominica has a 13th century tower. Local pub is The Who d HaveThought It Inn.
North of Wadebridge. Famous for its collegiate church where Sir John Betjeman worshipped. Its tower is visible for miles, and is dedicated to St. Endelienta, there are many legends about the saint whom gave her name to this church and parish.
East of Newquay. The church of St. Enodrus dates back to 1686.
North of Truro. The church of St. Hermes was re-built in 1820.
Picturesque village on the River Hayle, navigable in the 16th century up to the ancient bridge where the 14th century church of St. Ercus stands. Medieval lantern-head cross in the village square. Main line railway station with a branch line to St. Ives. Local pubs are The Smugglers Inn and The Star Inn.
South of Padstow. The parish church has a very unusual tower, it originally stood only 50 feet high and was built in the 14th/15th centuries. It had the upper part brought down by explosives in the 1880's, but it was not properly capped until 1956 and now stands 24 feet high. The church is mentioned by Sir John Betjeman in his poems.
The 15th century church of St. Uvelus stands alone on a high plateau close to Bedruthan Steps, its tower was used as a beacon for pilots landing at nearby airfield, and also as a landmark for mariners. The old village was acquired by compulsory purchase in 1938 and almost completely demolished in order to build an RAF Coastal Command Station, leaving only the Norman church, the Vicarage, and a single farm called Trevisker.
Picturesque village, with stocks, which has the 14th century church of St. Ewa with octagonal spire, located west of Mevagissey. Polmassick Vineyard and The Lost Gardens of Heligan nearby. Local pub is The Crown Inn.
Quiet hamlet high on the cliff tops above Crackington Haven. Enjoys breathtaking views of the coast up to Hartland point. Tiny church of St. Gennys with its rare altar tabernacle and fascinating churchyard with graves of shipwrecked mariners.
Rural village on the B3249, which was once a harbour, close to the River Lyhner, with outstanding church, former Augustinian priory and cathedral church of Cornwall. 16th century almshouses. Tudor gateway leads to family home of the Eliot's. Still has a main line railway station. Local pub is The Eliot Arms.
Located in the outskirts of Penryn.
Small village near Marazion. The parish became notorious in the 1930's after extreme Protestant agitators broke into the church and removed or destroyed many of the fittings and furnishings installed by the much-loved Father Bernard Walke, then vicar of St. Hilary.
St. Hilary Church and Heritage Centre
Interesting village south of Padstow on the A389. Church features medieval carved stones and Victorian stencil work. The church is dedicated to St. Issey or Itha or Ida, the Virgin of Abbess, who was born in Ireland in 480 St. Issey died in 569 but there is still a feast held on the Sunday nearest the 20th in the month of November. Sea mill nearby on the Camel Estuary. Mellingey Mill is also nearby. Local pubs are the Ring o' Bells, and The Pickwick Inn.
Small village on the A390 midway between Liskeard and Callington. The village has a 12th century church which rumour has it that a secret passage constructed by the Knights Templar, leading to the nearby farmhouse of Trebeigh, once a manor held by the Earl of Montain. Leonard Trelawny Hobhouse, politician and sociologist, and his sister Emily Hobhouse, the social activist, were both born in St. Ive. The Butchers Arms is located on the crossroads here and was once a coaching inn on the main road.
Magnificently situated in the far west of Cornwall, overlooking spectacular crescent of beaches. A warren of stone cottages, cobbled lanes and alleys. Artist's colony for almost 100 years: Sickert, Whistler, Nicholson, Lanyon. Tate Gallery. Barbara Hepworth Museum and Bernard Leach Pottery. Annual arts festival. Museum, golf course. Terminus of railway branch line from St. Erth.
St. Ives Museum
St. Ives Society of Artists
A small hamlet on the A39 road, north of St. Columb Major and south-west of Wadebridge. The local pub is the Halfway House Inn, an old coaching inn.
South of Saltash on Rame peninsula with Antony House nearby. Local pub is The St. John Inn.
Small village and church near Boscastle. Thomas hardy first came as an architect to St. Juliot, in March 1870, having been given the task of readying the church for restoration. Hardy's drawings are still preserved in the church at St. Juliot. The 15th century south aisle with its sturdy oak Cornish wagon roof which now form the nave and chancel was all that survived the restoration.
Mainland's most westerly town, next to Cape Cornwall. The Iron Age village of Carn Euny is nearby, as is Geevor mining heritage centre at Pendeen, Crown engine houses at Botallack, Ding Dong Mine and Pendeen lighthouse are also in the area. Flights to Isles of Scilly.
Exquisite 13th century church set above tidal creek of Percuil River, with churchyard of sub-tropical shrubs and religious texts. Peninsula of small villages across the river from Falmouth.
Pleasant village with square on Lizard Peninsula at the end of the B3293. 400 shipwreck victims of nearby Manacles Reef buried in churchyard. The birthplace of the 1497 Cornish Rebellion. Annual Ox Roast in August. Beaches at Porthallow, Housel Bay and Kennack Sands. Nature trails at Tregellast Barton farm. Local pub is The Three Tuns.
Small village north-east of Wadebridge with old bridge, inn and vicarage. St. Kew church has some of the finest medieval stained glass windows in Cornwall. The internal roof structure is panelled in a latticework of dark wood that is interlaced with a finely carved supporting structure of beams and cross members that swoop down to rest on ornately carved pillars, that lend to an almost cathedral like feel. In ancient times this was the site of a Celtic monastery. The monastery was known as Lanow. This Celtic monastery was de-spoiled by King Edgar in circa 958-975 AD during the Saxon invasion of Cornwall. The station on the North Cornwall Railway here opened on 1st June 1895 but was closed in October 1966. Local pubs are the St. Kew Inn and the Red Lion Inn.
Between Liskeard and Looe on the B3254. In Victorian times the holy-well in St. Keyne had the reputation of conferring supremacy to the marriage partner who first tasted it. The church is to St. Keyna and is largely 15th century. Also nearby is Paul Corins Music Machine collection.
Situated approximately eight miles south-west of Penzance along a minor road that forks from the B3315 towards Land's End. Near Porthcurno. Finely carved pews inside medieval church dedicated to St. Levan. Porthcurno Telegraph Museum and The Minack Theatre are nearby.
This hilltop village located three miles east of Wadebridge, is centred on the Grade 1 listed 15th century church of St. Mabena, which has a tower 75 feet high, and whose doorway is made from Cataclews slate from nearby St. Merryn. Old cottages and an inn cluster around the church. It is surrounded by high quality, undulating farmland. The Allen valley to the north-west contains a number of Cornish Nature Conservation Sites. The popular St. Mabyn Inn dates from the 17th century, and began life as a farmhouse.
Tiny hamlet one mile north of East Looe on the B3253, location of the parish church of St. Martin.
St. Martins Green
On the Lizard peninsula, near Helford. Local pub is the Prince of Wales.
St. Martin's (Isles of Scilly)
St. Martin's Vineyard (Isles of Scilly)
St. Mary's (Isles of Scilly)
Popular sailing centre on the Roseland Peninsula at the end of the A3078, overlooking Falmouth. Sheltered and relatively remote. Small beach and fine clover-leaf Tudor castle built by Henry VIII in the 1540's. Ferries to Place Manor (summer), Falmouth and Truro. Local pubs are the Rising Sun, and The Victory Inn.
St. Mawes Castle
Snugly pocketed in a deep and wooded valley north of Newquay, the village is protected from the Atlantic gales that sweep in from the western coast. In its 13th century church there are many monuments to the Arundell family whose manor Lanherne House, stands nearby. In 1794 the estate was given for use as a convent by Carmelite nuns. St. James's Well was restored in 2011. The river Menalhyl runs through the the village. The nearby Royal Air Force station, RAF St. Mawgan, takes its name from the village and is next to Newquay Airport. Local pub is The Falcon Inn.
Between Callington and Saltash on the A388. Location of the famous St. Mellion Golf Club. Annual cherry feast held to raise church funds. The church of St. Melanus has a 15th century tower. Pentillie Castle is nearby. Local pub is The Coryton Arms.
A short way inland from dramatic Trevose Head, and four miles south of Padstow on the B3276. A village with slate-built cottages and inn around the low-towered medieval church of St. Marina. St. Merryn has a motto "Seven bays for seven days", displayed on the road signs as you enter the village, referring to the many bays and beaches in the vicinity which are popular with visitors and home to Rick Stein, the TV chef. These bays are: Trevone, Harlyn, Mother Ivy's Bay, Booby's Bay and the adjoining Constantine Bay, Treyarnon and Porthcothan. Local pubs are the Farmers Arms and The Cornish Arms.
West of St. Austell.
St. Michael Caerhays
South-west of Mevagissey. The church of St. Michael has monuments to the Trevanion family. Caerhays Castle is nearby.
St. Michael Penkivel
Three and a half miles south-east of Truro, via Malpas Ferry. the church, dating from 1261, was restored in 1862 and contains several monuments to the Boscawen family.
St. Michael's Mount (NT)
This magical island is the jewel in Cornwall's crown, a national treasure which is a must for every visitor to the far West. The great granite crag which rises from the waters of Mount's Bay is surmounted by an embattled castle, originally a Benedictine Priory built in the 12th century and daughter house of the famous Mont St. Michel in Normandy. Connected to Marazion by a low tide causeway.
St. Michael's Way
Footpath from Lelant to St. Michael's Mount.
Quiet village, four miles north of Wadebridge with church of St. Minefreda. Close by on lowlands is Jesus' Well, the waters of which were said to have great healing powers. The popular beach resort of Polzeath is nearby. Local pub is The Fourways Inn.
St. Nectan's Glen
Between Boscastle and Tintagel.
Small village on the southern edge of Bodmin Moor in a wooded valley. Once thriving on wool, now famed for 15th century church with magnificent stained glass. To this day an oak branch can be seen decorating the top of the church tower, celebrating King Charles escape from the Puritans by hiding in an oak tree. The branch is renewed every year on oak apple day, 29th May. Carnglaze Slate Caverns, Colliford Lake Park nearby.
St. Neot Pottery
St. Newlyn East
Pretty village three miles south of Newquay where you can visit the Elizabethan Trerice Manor (NT) and Lappa Valley Steam Railway. The church of St. Newelina was restored in 1883, has splendid interior. Engine house of East Wheal Rose Mine once contained the Great Hundred-inch pumping engine. Following the East Wheal Rose mining disaster of 1846 a Preaching Pit was constructed as a memorial. Tithe barn at Cargoll Manor, built in 1240 nearby, still has its original beams. There is also a golf course. Local pub is The Pheasant Inn.
Three miles west of Liskeard. The church of St. Pynnocus was restored in 1882. The village is known for having its own brass band.
St. Piran's Day
Small hamlet on the Lizard Peninsula just north of Cadgwith.
West of St. Austell, location of Automobilia motor museum. On the A3058 road linking Newquay and St. Austell. It is on the southern edge of the china clay district which encouraged the growth of the village to the present population of over 5000. The local pubs are The Kings Arms and The Queens Head.
North of Launceston, only two miles from the Devon border. The church built in 1259 is one of the oldest in the district.
Once a nearby village of Saltash, but now a suburb on the southern edge of Saltash.
Situated south of Camelford, just off the A39. The village is centred around the beautiful church dedicated to St. Tetha, daughter of King Brychan. One local story tells of Anne Jefferies who later became a witch and was born here in 1626. With a fine Inn (The White Hart Hotel) and several shops it makes an ideal base from which to tour North Cornwall. In the heart of the village you will find the unique clock tower, built in 1920 as a war memorial.
Peaceful village between Wadebridge and Camelford. The village name is derived from Tudy a 6th century monk and missionary strongly associated with the founding of monasteries and churches in Brittany. The village contains a Methodist chapel, primary school, pub, original forge and thriving post office and stores. The village is surrounded by many small country houses including Tremeer, Lamellen, Wetherham and Tinten. Tinten is believed to be the birthplace of Captain Bligh of Bounty fame. William Bligh was born at Tinten Manor here on September 9th 1754, the only son of Francis Bligh (died 27th December 1780) and his wife Jane Pearce. Local pub is The St. Tudy Inn.
On the east bank of the Fowey Estuary, South of Lostwithiel. Its church is dedicated to Saint Quiricus and Saint Julietta, it is renowned above all for its maiden bells.
West of Bodmin. The 12th century parish church is dedicated to Saint Wenna.
On the bank of the River Fowey, south of Lostwithiel. The church of St. Wynnocus is on the river bank. There is also a chapel which was battered down during the Civil War in August 1644.
St. Winnow Barton Farm Museum
East Cornwall town on the main route into the county, the A38. Near-perpendicular streets with buildings of interest: 17th century Guildhall, Mary Newman's cottage (home of Mrs. Francis Drake). Elliott's Grocery Store A 'time-warp' grocery shop which remains as it was when the last customer was served in 1973. Tamar river cruises. Brunel's iron railway bridge opened 1859, suspension road bridge in 1961. Nearby Trematon Castle (closed to public) associated with Prince Edward (The Black Prince). Now boasts a 65 foot high Celtic Cross to mark the County boundary.
A lovely village between St. Just and Penzance with an interesting Cornish church (St. Credan). A good starting point from which to explore the Beacon and ancient remains of Caer Bran and Carn Euny. Reached via the A30 road from Drift, where the reservoir offers excellent trout fishing.
Two miles north of Looe on the A387. Has a station on the Looe Valley Railway Line.
Two miles north-east of Redruth. Scorrier House, just south of the village, was built in 1780 by John Williams who made his fortune from tin mining. Local pubs are The Fox & Hounds and The Plume of Feathers.
Screech Owl Sanctuary
The River Seaton winds through woods down to the sea at Seaton. A notorious smuggling area in the last century because it was wild and remote. Brandy, silk and spices were brought in from Brittany. Free parking and a beach cafe. East of Looe on the B3247 coast road. Local pub is The Smugglers Inn.
Seaton Valley Country Park
Most westerly village in Cornwall with views to Cape Cornwall. The large bathing beach is popular with surfers, and is a Blue Flag beach. Lifeboat slip and former windlass house, now a crafts gallery. Cliff castle. Excellent cliff walks to Land's End. Flights to Isles of Scilly from nearby St. Just airport. Local pub is The Old Success Inn.
Seven Stones Reef
Fifteen miles west of Land's End, the scene of many shipwrecks including the Torrey Canyon in 1967, until a lightship was anchored here permanently in 1842.
Seven Stones Lightship
Overlooking the village of Henwood on Bodmin Moor.
Small hamlet one mile west of Mousehole.
Between Looe and Torpoint on the A374. Once an important crossing point of the St. Germans river with a ferry to St. Erth. The church of St. Mary was restored in 1856.
Shipwrecks Around The Isles of Scilly
North of Truro on the B3284. Local pub is the Old Plough Inn.
Siblyback Lake Country Park
140 acre reservoir built in 1969, high on Bodmin Moor. Well-stocked with fish, this is a popular place with anglers and boating enthusiasts. Excellent walking and cycling.
Three miles north-west of Helston. The 15th century church of St. Sidinius was restored in Victorian times. Trevarno Gardens nearby.
Sir Arthur Quiller-Couch
Sir Goldsworthy Gurney
Sir Humphry Davy
Sir John Betjeman
One mile east of Wadebridge on the A389. Local pub is the Slade's House Country Inn.
One mile north of Camelford on the B3314. Slaughterbridge which crosses the River Camel has perhaps the strongest legendary and folk association with King Arthur's last battle. This is due in part to King Arthur's "tomb" the Arthur Stone which has a Latin inscription and is obviously a monument. The former Camelford Station was located half a mile west of here and later became the British Cycling Museum.
Smuggling in Cornwall
South Crofty Mine
Two miles north-west of Callington. The church of St. Sampson is slate hung.
Village two miles south of Launceston on the B3254. The church of St. Paternus is one of the oldest Norman churches in the country. Local pub is The Winds of Change.
Spirit of The West American Theme Park
Sport in Cornwall
Springfields Fun Park
Small village north of St. Austell on the A391 and surrounded with china clay workings.
Sterts Theatre & Arts Centre
Small hamlet two miles north of Bude, just west of the A39.
Old mining village two miles west of St. Austell, which had a chapel built in 1876 and the church of St. Mark in 1877. Local pub is The Hewas Inn.
Inland rural village with nearby reservoir for water-sports, south of Redruth. Second-largest agricultural show in Cornwall every July. Poldark Mine tourist attraction at Wendron. The name is believed to derive from the dedication of the parish church to St. Stithian, of whom little is known. The village has its own band - the St. Stithians Silver Band and a male and ladies choir. John Wesley visited Stithians in 1744-50 and brought Methodism to the parish. Local Pub is the Seven Stars Inn.
Stithians Lake Country Park
Two miles north of Callington. Site of the Duchy College of Agriculture.
Small hamlet on the eastern edge of Bodmin Moor just north-west of North Hill.
Narrow streets, parent town of Bude on the A39, part-Norman church. The Tree Inn birthplace of Anthony Payne, the Cornish Giant. Famous for Royalist civil war victory at Stamford Hill in 1643.
Stuart House, Liskeard
A 16th century town house in the centre of Liskeard , has been restored by Stuart House Trust as an arts and heritage centre.
Located between Newquay and St. Austell. Site of the London Inn an old coaching inn, originally on the crossroads of the A3058 and the A30 but the A30 now has a by-pass. The Summercourt fair is held at the end of September.
Small hamlet midway between Bodmin and Lostwithiel on the B3269.
Surfing in Cornwall
Between Looe and Polperro. Named after Saint Tallanus, a hermit who made his home there in the 5th century. The altar of the present-day church is situated on the site of the original Celtic altar. The church is also unusual in having a detached bell tower. There are several small beaches in Talland Bay, served by a small car park and cafe. In 1922 the French trawler 'Marguerite' went aground in Talland Bay, having lost her bearings in a south-westerly gale.
Small village about two miles north of St. Columb Major. Well known for its 'Harbour'. The joke is that the harbour is little more than a duck pond and is over four miles from the coast. Another Cornish 'in-joke' is that Talskiddy once had a treacle mine. One of only a few Cornish villages that has a village green.
Tamar Lakes Country Park
Tanglewood Wild Garden
Three separate villages (east, middle and west) on the A390, four miles west of Liskeard.
Tater Du Lighthouse
Tehidy Country Park
Once the Gretna Green of Cornwall, earning much of its income from marriages and burials. This settlement high on Bodmin Moor, just off the A30 road was founded by the Knights Templar in 1120 as a hospice for travellers. The little church built by the Knights fell into disrepair many years ago, but was re-built in 1883 on the original pattern as St. Catherine's by Silvanus Trevail. It is a stark little building, tucked away in a quiet valley but still serving its sparse community.
The Arthurian Centre
The Camel Estuary
The Camel Trail
Trail from Wadebridge to Padstow.
The Camelford Way
An eight mile footpath link from the end of the Camel Trail through St. Breward to Camelford.
The Caradon Trail
17 miles of trails around Bodmin Moor.
The Castle Bude
A natural formation of balancing rocks near Minions on Bodmin Moor.
The Civil War in Cornwall
The Clay Trails
A series of trails around The Eden Project area.
The Coast to Coast Trail
Trail linking the harbours of Portreath and Devoran.
The Coastal Footpath
Footpath round the entire coastline of Cornwall.
The Copper Trail
A sixty mile circumnavigation around Bodmin Moor.
The Cornish Chough
The Cornish Fishing Industry
The Cornish Owl Centre
The Cornish Pasty
The Cornish Rebellion of 1497
The Cornish Way
The Courtroom Experience
The Crystal Cave
The Duchy of Cornwall
The Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry Museum
The Eden Project
The Famous Old Albion Inn (Crantock)
The Gannel Estuary
The Gem & Jewellery Workshop
The Great Flat Lode Trail
Trail around the Carn Brea area.
The Hall Walk
Classic walk around Fowey and Polruan.
The Heritage Trail
Trail around St. Austell Bay.
The History of Crantock
The Homestead Woodland Garden
Stone circles near Minions on Bodmin Moor.
The Isles of Scilly
The Japanese Garden
The John Betjeman Centre
The Lost Gardens of Heligan
The Minack Theatre
The Monkey Sanctuary
The Museum of Witchcraft
The National Lobster Hatchery
The National Trust (Coast Information)
The National Trust (Houses & Gardens)
The Old Mill Herbary
The Parish Church of St. Carantoc
The Pilchard Works
The Poldark Mine
The Population of Cornwall
The Portreath Branchline Trail
Trail from Portreath to Pool.
The Redruth and Chasewater Railway Trail
Trail from Redruth to Chasewater.
The Roseland Peninsula
The Round House and Capstan Gallery
The Saints' Way
30 mile footpath from coast to coast across mid Cornwall from Padstow to Fowey.
The St. Austell Trail
Trail from St. Austell to Wheal Martyn.
The Shire Horse Farm & Carriage Museum
The Smugglers' Way
A 37 mile coast to coast walk across Cornwall from Boscastle to Looe.
The Standing Stones of Cornwall
The Tamar Otter Sanctuary
The Tamar Valley
The Tamar Valley Donkey Park
The Tinners Way
Footpath from St. Ives to St. Just across the Land's End Peninsula.
The Tolgus Trail
Trail around Redruth.
The Tortoise Garden
The Tresavean Trail
Trail around Lanner.
The Trevaunance Trail
The Uninhabited Islands (Isles of Scilly)
The Wayside Folk Museum
Three miles west of Truro on the A390. Small village that has grown in recent years, with newly developed housing estates to the west of the village. Local pub is the Victoria Inn.
Small village on the A38 between Saltash and Liskeard. Its name derives from its location on the River Tiddy, literally meaning "Ford on the River Tiddy". There is a small early-Victorian church of St. Luke. The bridge over the River Tiddy dates from the 14th century. Bridge House located at the bottom of Bridge Road was a gatehouse onto the Port Eliot Estate. Local pub is The Rod and Line.
South of Boscastle on the B3263. A place of wild Cornish cliffs and rugged shores, mysterious ruins clinging to a windswept island, gift shops, tearooms and all things 'Arthurian', Castle associated with King Arthur after 12th century writings of Geoffrey of Monmouth. Iron Age castle and Celtic settlement preceded Norman structure built by Earl Reginald in 1233. Old Post Office (NT).
Tintagel Old Post Office (NT)
Tintagel Visitor Centre
Small hamlet located between Chacewater and St. Day. During the 1800's it was part of Cornwall's mining industry, due to its proximity to Poldice Mine, and disused mine-shafts and derelict engine houses are scattered throughout the area. Todpool was once busy enough to support a pub (now a private house), and a church, now gone. It is now an extremely quiet little backwater, and a few miners' cottages still remain.
Between Redruth and Portreath.
Tom Bawcocks Eve
Situated in the Rame Peninsula on the banks of the river Tamar. The listed house and gardens of Mount Edgcumbe and Antony House and Woodland Gardens (NT) are nearby. Car and passenger ferry to Plymouth which pulls itself across on chains. Site of HMS Raleigh, a Royal Navy training establishment. The A374 road continues west from the town to the A38 at Trerulefoot.
Small hamlet two miles south-west of St. Ives, with church of St. Tewennocus in green fields. Also site of Cuckoo Feast in April each year.
South of Hayle. Godolphin House (NT) nearby.
Transports of Delight
Between Redruth and Portreath.
Near North Hill. The Trebartha estate, one of four farms mentioned in the Domesday Book, remained in the possession of the same family from 1066 until 1940.
Located two miles south of Tintagel, is a mixture of spectacular rock formations, outstanding sunsets, and industrial archaeology. The tiny harbour was once used for shipping slate from Delabole Quarry. But these days the mile long sandy beach is much used by the bucket and spade brigade for sand castle building and sun bathing.
Village on the north bank of the estuary of the River Camel, close to Polzeath. On a headland between Daymer Bay with its large sandy beach and Hayle Bay. Sir John Betjeman, Poet Laureate, who penned many a poem about this beautiful area, lies in the graveyard at St. Enodoc church, nearby.
South of Launceston.
South of Launceston on the A388. Local pub is The Springer Spaniel.
West of Launceston.
Near Altarnun. Site of old manor house once owned by the Kitto family.
Located about three miles miles from Land's End on the B3315. Known for its Logan rock. The stunning views have been featured in a great many photographs, the rugged and wild Treen cliffs are also very popular with walkers, ramblers and even bird watchers. Also nearby is Porthcurno. Local pub is the Logan Rock.
West of Launceston on the old A30 road. The local pub is The Eliot Arms.
South-west of Bodmin on the B3274.
Known as the gateway to the Roseland Peninsula on the B3287 - Tregony was an active port in the 14th century surrounded by busy woollen mills producing a rough serge known as Tregony cloth. Local pub is The Kings Arms.
South of St. Austell.
Two miles south-east of Truro. The estate has been home to the Boscawen family since 1335, but now known as the home of English tea and home of Lord Falmouth (not open to the public).
A small rather forgotten village close to the boundaries of the Tregrehan Estate. Now by-passed by the main A390 road to St. Austell, it retains a small post office/store, chapel and village playing field.
Now a suburb of the northern side of St. Austell.
Two miles north of Newquay.
A small settlement that nestles halfway up the valley at Trebarwith. It is a settlement that was established in the early part of the 16th century to house the quarry workers who worked the huge quarries along this part of the coast.
One mile north of Redruth on the old A30. An old mining district, now mostly an inn (The Treleigh Arms) and the church of St. Stephens.
One mile west of Delabole. An unspoilt secluded hamlet within sight of the sea and surrounded by fields, reached by a winding narrow lane.
One mile south of Port Isaac.
Trelissick Garden (NT)
Hamlet eight miles west of Launceston, church of St. Winwallo is quite remote.
Small village two miles west of Saltash. Nearby is Ince castle which was used during the Civil War. Local pub is The Crooked Inn.
Two miles north of Liskeard. It was largely constructed during the mid-nineteenth century to accommodate workers at nearby mines and quarries and their families. From the early 1960's to the 1980's, it was the home of Tremar Pottery.
Tremenheere Sculpture Gardens
North of Newquay.
Secluded hamlet in wooded valley below Black Head on the coastal footpath, near to Mevagissey and mid-way between Porthpean and Pentewan. It has remained rural and remarkably unchanged, and consists of half a dozen pretty cottages and gardens, and a post box, Trenarren House built in 1805 was once home to A. L. Rowse, the author, all nestled in a coombe that slips down to a tiny cove between lovely cliff walks on the headland.
Small hamlet midway between Camelford and Launceston. The church of St. Gregory was restored in 1858.
Trengwainton Garden (NT)
Trenouth Farm Rare Breeds Centre
Elizabethan Manor House near Newquay.
On the A38 midway between Liskeard and Saltash.
Tresco (Isles of Scilly)
Tresco Abbey Gardens
Three miles east of Truro on the A390 road. Once the lowest bridging point of the Truro River, the bridge was the site of the Surrender of the Royalist forces to the Parliamentarians during the Civil War in 1646. The Wheel Inn pub with the distinctive rolled straw wheel on its thatched roof was used at the time as the Parliamentarian headquarters. On the south bank is the Tregothnan Estate, home of Lord Falmouth (not open to the public). Two miles east of Truro on the A39.
Small village six miles north-west of Launceston, once served by the North Cornwall Railway. Its church of St. Nicholas was restored in 1880.
Small village three miles east of Boscastle. Local pub is The Horseshoe Inn.
Small hamlet situated midway between Tintagel and Boscastle. Trethevy has a number of historic buildings and is an early Christian site. The hamlet is divided by the B3263 main road. To the north is Rocky Valley and St. Nectan's Glen.
Trethorne Leisure Park
North-east of St. Austell, adjacent to the entrance of the Eden Project.
Two miles south-west of Boscastle on the B3263. A few cottages, a farm and the church of St. Petroc.
Trevarno Estate and Gardens
Small hamlet between Newquay and Mawgan Porth. Local pub is The Travellers Rest.
A small hamlet situated between St. Agnes and Perranporth. Trevellas valley has been a site for tin mining for several centuries, and in 1810 the Blue Hills Sett incorporated many of the small mines. Though Blue Hills closed in 1897, tin production has continued in Trevellas to the present and the Blue Hills tin works can be visited throughout the year.
Between Bugle and St. Austell. The church of St. Peter was built in 1850.
Trevince Estate Gardens
Five miles north-west of St.Austell and in the heart of the china clay district.
A seaside village near Padstow. It is made up of one long road leading down to the beach surrounded by houses. A local curiosity is one of the cliffs next to the sea which has a large blow-hole in it leading directly down to the sea. A very popular sandy holiday beach which is quite sheltered and has lifeguards in the summer. Local pub is The Well Parc Hotel.
Located between Newquay and Padstow, Trevose is the most prominent headland on the north coast rising to 240 feet above the sea, which gives wonderful views on a clear day. The lighthouse can be visited on weekday afternoons.
Trevose Head Lighthouse
St. Columb Major.
Small village near to Pendeen on the B3306 coast road between St. Just and St. Ives. Close by is Geevor tin mine which finally closed in 1990, and Levant tin mine which was the site of a terrible accident in 1919 where 31 men were killed. It has been long since closed and is now owned by the National Trust which operates it as a museum.
West of Launceston, near Polyphant. The River Inny widens here and has a mill below this remote hamlet. The church of St. Michael's was built in 1863.
Small hamlet two miles north-west of Helston.
Midway between Liskeard and Looe. Site of a Methodist chapel dated 1835. The village shop and post office closed some years ago, as did the two Methodist chapels. There is also no pub in the village. Most residents rely on the local market town of Liskeard, approximately three miles away, for shopping and other local services.
Tiny hamlet high on Bodmin Moor on the old A30 road, famous for the cottage where John Wesley the Methodist preacher lived in the 18th century. Now open to the public both as a museum and as a meeting place.
Trewithen House and Gardens
Two miles west of St. Austell on the A3058. China clay has played a big part in the village's history following its discovery by William Cookworthy. The Cornish Main Line passes through the village, and once had its own station. Local pub is the White Pyramid.
Trewortha Bronze Age Farm
Small sandy beach near Padstow, has a caravan park and a Youth Hostel. Natural swimming pool formed in the rocks. The coastal footpath provides breathtaking views along the coast to Trevose Head in one direction and Newquay and even St. Ives on a clear day, in the other.
Trinity House National Lighthouse Centre
Small village three miles north of Truro. Local pub is the Clock and Key Inn.
Trist House Garden
South of Camborne. A large village which grew to house all the men who worked in the the mines in the area. Local pub is The Grenville Arms.
Set in a valley, the magnificent cathedral city of Truro is an intriguing mix of the historic blending sensitively with the new. Cornwall's commercial and administrative centre. A three-spired cathedral completed 1910 stands on the site of the 16th century church of St. Mary. Impressive Georgian town houses. Royal Cornwall Museum & Art Gallery. Excellent pedestrianised shopping centre. Three Spires Music Festival June/July. Boat trips. Main line railway station with a branch line to Falmouth.
On the eastern edge of Camborne. Tucking Mill was the Cornish term for a fulling mill which was where homespun cloth was dipped, cleansed and dressed. Also in the parish was Dolcoath Mine and South Crofty Mine. Once the location of William Bickford's Fuseworks which supplied all the local mines. Local pub is The Tuckingmill Hotel.
Tuckingmill Valley Park
Village situated midway between Fowey and St. Austell. There was an important Benedictine priory here in the middle ages. The parish church of St. Andrew dominates the village now, but started life as priory in 1092. The village was made famous by Daphne Du Maurier with her novel - 'The House on the Strand'. Local pub is The New Inn.
North of Liskeard on the B3254. Old mining village on the edge of Bodmin Moor. Well known for its pub, The Caradon Inn. The spire-less church of St. Paul was built in 1887. The Sterts Open Air Theatre is nearby.
One mile south of Camelford on the A39.
Located close to the village of Stoke Climsland, near Callington. The Wesleyan chapel here was built in 1816, and later converted into a sunday school.
Located on the Roseland Peninsula. Famous for 19th century thatched round houses, which were built round so that the devil didn't have a corner to hide in. Interesting church, art gallery. Caerhays Castle, designed by John Nash, has gardens open during Cornwall Gardens Festival. Tumulus at Carne supposedly grave of King Geraint. There is a long grave in the churchyard containing 19 bodies from the German barque 'Hera' which ran aground off Gull Rock in 1914.
Small village one mile north of Roche and eight miles west of Bodmin. Local pub is the Victoria Inn.
Videos of Cornwall
Vineyards in Cornwall
Busy market town served by 15th century 14-arched road bridge crossing the river Camel. Victorian railway link to Padstow and Bodmin now 12-mile waterside Camel Trail for walking and cycling. Camel Creek Adventure Park nearby. Annual folk festival. Royal Cornwall Show every June.
Small hamlet on the A39 midway between Bude and Camelford.
Walks in Cornwall
Small village midway between Launceston and Tintagel. Warbstow Bury lies just outside the village - an ancient fortress built with double ramparts and deep ditches. The parish church was built by the Normans and dedicated to St. Werburgha.
An ancient moorland settlement about two miles west of St. Neot, with a very old church, parts of which date from the 12th century. Best known for the eccentric Rev Frederick Densham, who became parish priest in 1931. Disliked by his parishioners, Densham shut himself off from the world and kept the remote church of St. Bartholomew locked most of the time. He preached to a congregation of cardboard images, propped up in the pews. He died alone in 1953 in his vicarage, which he is now said to haunt. Was once a busy Bodmin Moor village with the local mines and quarries employing hundreds of people. A road was built in 1953 linking Warleggan to the A38; until then it had been regarded as one of the most remote areas of Cornwall.
Little hamlet on A389, between Bodmin and Wadebridge, with small church and Washaway Court, Tree-lined drive to Pencarrow House, a magnificent Georgian House and gardens with superb collections of pictures, furniture and china.
A spectacular surfing beach situated on the north coast just four miles north of Newquay. Three miles of sand at low tide makes it ideal for any beach activity needing space. Well populated with pubs, restaurants and hotels. Location of Jamie Oliver's Fifteen Restaurant. Local pub is the Phoenix.
Week St. Mary
Quiet village south of Bude, once of some importance, the site of a Norman fortress, with 15th century church and free grammar school founded in 1508 by Thomasine Bonaventure, a lowly village girl who later became Dame Percyval, Lady Mayoress of London. Used as a stopping place for the troops during the Civil War just before the battle of Stratton. Local pub is The Old Orchard Inn.
Three miles north of Helston on the B3297. Site of The Poldark Mine and Heritage Complex where visitors are able to venture underground into Wheal Roots – an 18th century tin mine. The church of St. Wendrona contains the brass of Warin Penhalluryk. Local pub is The New Inn.
A few houses, a pottery, and, as the name suggests a bridge over the River Camel just off the B3266 Camelford to Bodmin road. Wenford was the terminus of the Bodmin - Wadebridge Railway, opened in 1834, and used to carry primarily China Clay, and also Granite from the De Lank Quarry to Wadebridge for onward shipment. The railway line closed in 1967 and now forms part of the Camel Trail. The Wenford section continued with the transport of China Clay until its closure in 1983.
Wenford Bridge Pottery
Near St. Breward.
North of Launceston. Small parish that was once in Devon. In Werrington Park is a substantial house built by Sir Francis Drake. A larger mansion was built next to it on the site of old parish church in the early 18th century. The parish church of St. Martin was built in 1742 in the Gothic style with the tower from the old church.
On Bodmin Moor near Launceston, where John Wesley the Methodist preacher lived in the 18th century.
One mile west of the village of Crantock. Local pub is the Bowgie Inn.
Wheal Martyn China Clay Heritage Centre
Wheal Martyn Trail
Trail from Wheal Martyn to The Eden Project.
Wheal Peevor Multi-use Trail
Village about four miles north-west of St. Austell. Named after the white puffs of marsh cotton which once grew on the moors in the area, long before the china clay pits.
Small village midway between Bude and Launceston on the B3254. The large church of St. Nicholas has graves for three generations of the Kingdom family.
On the A387 north-west of Looe.
Located to the south of Bude, this small coastal hamlet looks out over one of the area's top surfing beaches. Famous for its rugged coastline, tumbling surf and excellent coastal walking. Local pub is The Bay View Inn.
Small hamlet just north of Torpoint on the bank of the River Tamar. Location of the Wilcove Inn overlooking the river. And was once HMS Defiance, the shore offices of the Reserve Fleet. Antony House is close by.
Wingz Bird & Animal Sanctuary
Between Bodmin and Newquay. The parish church, dedicated to St. Clement situated in the village dates back to the 13th century.
Wolf Rock Lighthouse
Wreck & Rescue Centre
North of Launceston on the B3254.
Youth Hostels in Cornwall
On the A30 near Perranporth. Local pub is an old coaching inn named The Hawkins Arms.
Enchanting moorland village west of St. Ives, just off the B3306, with 12th century St. Senara church and famed mermaid bench end. The author D H Lawrence lived here, and described his experiences in Kangaroo. Wayside Folk Museum with a working water mill. Splendid walking country along the coast path for the agile. Site of ancient quoit. Local pub is The Tinners Arms.